Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 12716
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1 acre/.4 hectare
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 12716
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 25, 2012

Hello HelpXers
We live on a small homestay where we grow our own veg/fruit and keep chickens and dairy goats. This year will be our first at rearing pigs and lambs for the freezer. We can offer a mixture of veggie/fruit stuff - picking; planting and most importantly weeding; and animal chores: fixing fences/sheds; feeding; cleaning out. As the British weather is notoriously unpredictable if it is too wet to be outside we have building jobs and cleaning to do. The chores available are dictated by season and weather.

We are a family of 3 (youngest a toddler) living in a rural village in Norfolk. We have also have 4 dogs and 2 cats. Our village is small and has 2 pubs (both serve food); 2 shops; a butcher and a post office.

Bus routes are irregular so own transport is recommended but we are happy for Helpers to work a full day in exchange for a full day off by mutual agreement. We have bikes to lend and are happy to take Helpers out and about if their time off coincides with our plans. We are close to US military airbases - great for plane spotters; and also very near to bird reserves (specifically the Stone Curlew breeding ground).

In exchange for 5 hours work a day we offer self contained accommodation in our modern 4 berth touring caravan (non-smoking) fully equipped with a fixed double bed; internet access; kitchen area (incl. microwave); shower/wc; heating and lounge. Helpers are welcome to the house for meals and early evenings, but we ask Helpers to give us our "down-time" in the evening.

We will provide food including a cooked evening meal (we eat a mainly meat free diet). Please do not expect to be waited on as we are a busy household. We have friends/family who are French and Spanish speaking.

If needed, we have space for a travelling vehicle to park up with an electric hookup.

If you are interested in our hosting you then please email me with the following info:

1. The length of time you plan to stay, we offer a maximum 1 or 2 weeks.
2. Jobs you like doing
3. Jobs you will not do
4. Dates you would like to stay

We can get back to you within 24 hours with our available dates and expect Helpers to confirm their availability within 48 hours - this makes it easier for us to plan for your arrival.

We look forward to hearing from you but if you find somewhere else we hope you have a nice experience.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use