Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 12947
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 16
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 12947
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 5, 2014

I own a very nice small farm that is located one hour north of Auckland and close to renown Matakana township and Pakiri Beach. The farm accommodates 120 sheep and their lambs. Over the years many fruit and nut trees have been planted and are producing fruit for most of the year. The property is mainly in pasture with patches of native bush and a tree-lined stream. The house is in a very private setting. I can offer you as a helper a double bedroom (and a single if required)and your own bathroom.

I am looking for helpers (prefer couples/pairs as I go out to work 3 days a week and it can get lonely if you are on your own) with the willingness to help me. Any help with farming,looking after animals, machinery, building and farm maintenance, house work or gardening would be appreciated. At the present time there is gardening and I am wanting to organise and declutter the house and sheds, so on wet or cold days we can work inside. Help with these, and checking the lambing ewes are the priorities. The arrangement would be that you work approximately 4 hours a day. Help in the mornings and have the afternoons and evenings to explore seems to work well (this is flexible). As I am employed as a real estate agent as well as farming, it would be nice if we could cook together occasionally and share the experience if I am working late.

I have satellite broadband but poor mobile reception.

Stays of 1 week to 10 days would suit me best.
The nearest public transport is in Wellsford which is 17km away and I can meet the bus there. But because of the distance to town and beaches having your own transport works best.

I have had two knees replaced and cannot do as much as I would like to so help in many areas would be appreciated.

This area is well known for its superb surfing beaches. There are many golf courses for low green fees, heaps of walking tracks, horse riding, swimming, fishing, snorkelling, diving, and canoeing. Matakana (which is 11 km away) has a lot of attractions to offer like the 3 Cinemas, cafe's and the Farmer's Market. From my place there are many possibilities to day travel around the North.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use