help exchange   Host 13077
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Lužná u Vsetína
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: up to 6
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13077
Country: Czech Republic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 29, 2019

SPECIAL CHRISTMAS OFFER FOR TRAVELERS:
We are looking for somebody to mind our house over the Christmas holiday (ideally from 24. 12 till 1. 1. 2020) but we are flexible on agreements.
We offer stay in our room which is nicely renovated, warm connected to a kitchen, with a bath room available.
We need you to do easy daily jobs around the farm: feeding chickens, dogs, cats and goats. Rest of the day you can do whatever you want, making trips, walking the mountains or just sit next to the oven and read books. It is very easy to take a bus or a train from our village anywhere you want.
We can provide for you food, 12 V electricity system and internet connection on our laptop.
Ideal for couples, friends or individuals who dont mind being alone on a solitary place in nature.
Looking forward to hear from you!
MISSION November:
The autumn is nearly over... But we are still outside. Current activities are:
1) Winter proofing. Making sure that nothing that will get damaged is still outside, that the hay is protected, no tools left outside etc.
2) A good time to manure the greenhouse and the trees.
3) Fence making - there is a last meadow which needs to be fenced in:)
4) Drying apples and jerusalem artichokes (topinamburs) before they spoil, bottling wine etc. Nice inside jobs
5) Chopping and cutting wood with chain saw if still possible (anybody seeking for a bit of physical exercise?)
6) Natural building & Restoration project - Some outdoor work if still possible and plenty of indoor carpentry and repairs. Mainly small stuff but great for anybody wanting to get some experience in the field.
7) Daily animal care. Feeding chickens, dogs, cats and goats and sometimes cleaning their sty
OR playing with kids:)
We would be happy for help at the moment and we can teach you about self sustainable ways of life:) You can also use here an opportunity to explore the surrounding by bus or train which are both accessible from our place.
WE ARE....
.... a bit of an adventurous family who choose to live on the old farm, which is 1.5 km farm from the village. We are renovating and old wooden house (more than 100 years old) and developing our permacultural gardening project. We are also keeping animals who are making us busy the whole year around. Our animals are source of funny stories and they love to make fun from us as well. (Especially goats)
TO SUM IT UP
Basic unit of our family is: David + Anna +Kubik (6) + Berenika (1) than Goats (at least five but you never know) + Ouessant sheep (they are French, actually from Brittany usually around 5 but you really never know) + 9 Chicken and the King Cock + Mr. Cat + Bajun (a big white dog who is a good spirit of our place but sometimes he thinks he is a wolf )+ Jackie the King Charles aka the Dribbler (he is a small dog but thinks he is an aristocrat).
AND than we also take volunteers to help us and experience how we live:) In winter might come a couple of brave people, in summer up to 8 people at once.
THE PLACE AND CONDITIONS
Volunteers have their own room with wood stove at the attic. We share the kitchen and bathroom. WC (dry toilet) or a panoramic toilet for volunteers is outside. This beautiful invention will help you to experience the changes of the seasons and the most beautiful sundowns you can imagine.
From May - September
We are running a bit of a camping place outside. You can make fires at the fire place, sleep in the tent, enjoy the outside shower and get in touch with the Nature. We think it is an beautiful chance to relax from the over urbanised world:)
WHAT ELSE?
Our place is of the grid. Which means we have got our own water source and 12 Volt electricity system running on the solar panels and 12 V batteries. We also have the petrol generator for running power tools and the washing machine.
We can charge you cell phone, small electronics. But if you will bring up your computer, camera, i pod, i phone, power bank, sound system and your rice cooker because you can not imagine to travel without this necessities please do not expect us to charge your darlings on the regular bases. Our electricity source is limited by capacity (100 AH battery )
And also the sun always doesnt shine as much as we wish.
TRANSPORT
You can get to our farm from the village in 20 minutes. There is both bus stop and train stop. You can also park your car or a van under the hill there is a save and nice meadow parking place. Even with river near by!
Be ready for 1,5 km walk uphill. If you are by car than only 1km. Road is steep an muddy if it is rainy. With a suitcase it will be definitely a chalange to reach our farm. But there is a nice natural well in the forest so you could refresh on the way:)
TASKS TO DO
In general we have got two main tasks which makes us busy the whole year around - first is work around animals and garden maintenance and second are renovation work around house.
NATURAL BUILDING PROJECT
You can experience here to work with cly/cob, lime, bricks, stones, cement, wool, wood and bottles. Basic carpentry projects.
PERMACULTURAL PRINCIPLES
Our garden is a live organism, our animals helps us to fertilise the soil an to clean up the grass around.
WILD HARVEST AND USING OF HERBS
We are using herbs and natural gifts both for cooking and healing. If you are interested we are happy to share our knowledge.
KITCHEN & COOKING
Base of our kitchen is vegetarian and we eat our home made products including eggs, goat milk products and meat (usually goat or mutton). We will ask to participate in food preparation and cooking.
FOOD MAKING & PROCEEDING
We are interested in the old wise ways to make our food more nutritious and digestible. . We love to experiment with lacto-fermentation products, making sour dough, home vines, herbal syrups, marmelades, chutneys, dried wild herbal products, home made oils and tinctures. And also we make goat cheese and yougurts:)

We take volunteers most of the year. Both short and long term but prefer longer term as it gives us the chance to provide better training. We are more than happy to take professionals or semi-professionals who want to specialise on specific subjects and can also offer training programmes for students. References provided.
Cheers and looking forward to see you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use