Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 1312
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Dozza (Bologna)
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 1312
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 4, 2018


We are situated on the south facing side of a valley in the foothills of the Appennines. The land is planted with Sangiovese grapevines, alfalfa (for hay production) and fruit trees (apricot, cherry, olive, fig, walnut etc.), as well as a varied vegetable plot (peas, beans, tomatoes, zucchini, melons, watermelons, aubergine, etc.). We also have a rambunctious herd of goats, some sheep, chickens and a pair of pigs. We both have jobs off the farm too (mainly freelance English teaching Victoria, and gardening/small haulage jobs Davide). We also take bed and breakfast guests.
So we are very busy and need help to keep everything running (reasonably) smoothly!
We are an AngloItalian couple (Victoria is British and Davide is a local ragazzo), with two daughters (born June 2004 and July 2006). We have lived here since 2001. In that time we have done a lot of work to the house and grounds but there is still plenty to do! This includes some general building and maintenance jobs on top of the everyday things such as looking after the animals (we have a dog, cats, a canary, budgie and tortoises too), chopping wood for the winter, gardening, housework, babysitting and helping out with B&B guests serving breakfast, cleaning rooms etc. Our vines were planted in 2004 and we got our first harvest in September 2006. They have to be cared for all year round too.
From here it is a steep but short walk up to the beautiful walled village of Dozza with bars, gelateria, restaurants, little shops and a castle that also houses the regional wine association (hundreds of wines to taste and buy). The city of Imola is 5km away. There are good road and rail connections to Bologna (20 mins), Florence (90 mins), Venice (2 hours) and the Adriatic coast (1 hour).
See our website for more information and pictures and details of how to get here. The photos here on helpx show a view of the farm and surroundings with the village of Dozza above, the helpers` room, some of our animals (including a newborn calf) and us!
We have been taking helpers since August 2005 and it has been a great experience so far. We welcome anyone with a good work ethic who is more concerned about getting the job done than just `putting in the hours`. We especially appreciate people with experience or skills in outdoor work and DIY. We have found that there is work all year round. Winter can be quite cold and we usually have some snow in January or February, July is generally the hottest month with temperatures up to 40 degrees!
It is difficult to say how many hours you will work per day as it depends on what needs doing, the weather and how fast you are! ; ) In general you will work from about 9am until lunchtime and then again in the afternoon. One or two afternoons a week may be free for you to visit the village of Dozza and nearby town of Imola. You will get one whole day off a week, usually Saturday, to go on day trips to Bologna, Ravenna, Florence etc. If you need two days to make an overnight trip that is fine too. We work very hard ourselves so we appreciate people who can do the same. In exchange we give you a place to lay your head at night, and meals, which are eaten with the family. You should be willing to share your room with other helpers or sleep in a tent or caravan in the summer months. We can usually accommodate couples in their own private room but unfortunately we don`t have room for families. We have free wifi for helpers with their own mobile internet devices. There are bikes you can borrow and we can give you lifts to and from the station in Imola when you arrive and depart.

Looking forward to hearing from you,
Victoria, Davide, Isabel and Charlotte

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use