Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 13126
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7200
Persons: 2 (more negotiable)
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13126
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 20, 2018

Kia Ora Koutou

We are YOUNG couple in our early 40s with four children aged 16, 14, 11 and 10. We manage a large sheep and cattle station on the Coast of the lower North Island with 20,000 stock units of sheep and beef cattle. Check out the station facebook page "owahanga station" for more information.

We are looking for helpers to come and stay with us and help out with farm tasks, gardening, farm maintenance and general tasks around the home. There is lots of variation in the types of jobs that we need help with and anyone with practical skills and experience would be super. Working with livestock does require skills and experience so sometimes it is not possible for helpers to work with the stock much but that is not always the case and at certain times of the year, there will be plenty of work with stock to do. However, there are plenty of other tasks to do like cutting and stacking wood, painting, weed spraying and the like if there isn't much happening with stock.

We offer excellent accommodation,good food and a chance to be a part of a real kiwi farming team . We don't take life too seriously so anyone coming to stay with us will need a good sense of humor!! In our spare time we go hunting for pigs and deer and do alot of fishing and diving.

We like to make sure our helpers get to know all about NZ and have a great time while they stay with us. The farm has 14km of coastline, two rivers and lots of native bush. This is a great opportunity for helpers who like the outdoors and would like to do some fishing, hiking/tramping, swimming in a beautiful location with some genuine young kiwis while also giving us hand to get through the numerous tasks required. The farm is very remote, one and half hours one way to the supermarket, but we have unlimited wifi internet (no mobile phone coverage though). It would be great if you have your own transport but if you intend to stay for more than a couple of weeks, we are happy to pick people up who are travelling by bus from Dannevirke or Train from Masterton, please check with us first which town we might be going to before booking your transport. Staying with us is more suited to people who love the outdoors and are motivated to get out of bed in the morning to experience all life has to offer.

As you are staying in our home, there is an expectation that you will help out with domestic jobs just as part of everyday living as if it was your own home. These types of jobs (loading the dishwasher, helping with dishes etc) will not make up part of your helpx work but rather are in addition to it. We try to make sure helpers are as much a part of our family as possible.

We look forward to meeting you!!

UPDATE: Due to our remote location, we prefer helpers to stay for at least TWO WEEKS but preferably longer. Jodie now also has a full time job during the week in Masterton so most of the time it is just Scott and our son Jimmy hosting you at the station.

We often take helpers of three to four months as part of their course work for Agricultural degrees in France. Please contact us if you are interested in this. Two weeks is our minimum.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use