help exchange   Host 13138
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Carmarthen
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 24
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 13138
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 8, 2019

Welcome to Wales. Ex traveller, now a host. Stay in a farmhouse surrounded by nature, and help to look after and walk Sled dogs and Sheep dogs.
You can also learn about dog training, handling and grooming, if you want too.

This is a peaceful and secluded farm in the Welsh countryside ( with WiFi ), a quiet place to get away from it all, maybe do some meditation and get in touch with nature.
Dog Training, Dog Handler training, Rehabilitating aggressive dogs, and Sheepdog training are some of the things that happen here.

The work is cleaning kennels, refreshing water bowls, walking the dogs 2 times a day. First in the morning, and again in the afternoon, and then letting the dogs out for a wee last thing each night just before bedtime. A little help around the farm and in the house if needed.

4 hours of work/walking dogs a day maximum - 2 hours in the morning, and 1 1/2 hours in the afternoon and 1/2 hour last thing to put the dogs to bed for the night.
In exchange for Brunch and evening meal, mostly vegetarian. Tea available all day :-)
Your own bedroom in the house, near the bathroom and use of WiFi and washing machine.

1 person for 1 month or more preferred.

English needed, enough to understand how to work with the dogs.

You will need to bring some outdoor clothes and boots for working outside.

Helpers interested to learn about dogs and training, with enthusiasm and friendly attitude welcome.

I am a dog trainer, with kennels of 5 Alaskan Malamutes and 3 Sheepdogs.
Owners bring their dogs from all over the UK, to get help and training.

I've trained and competed with my own dogs in Obedience competitions, Sheepdog Trials, Agility, Sled dog Rallies, and Dog Shows including Crufts, and have also been a dog training instructor at Dog Training clubs, and have judged Dog Shows and Sheepdog Trials.

I'm also an experienced traveller, having driven my Harley Davidson motorcycle around Europe many times and have travelled to Asia, Africa and Europe. Travelled over land to India passing through France, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia, Montenegro, Albania, Greece, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, Pakistan on the way. Lived i Goa in India for a while and also travelled to Thailand and the borders of Cambodia and Burma. I have also visited most countries in Europe including France, Andorra, Catalonia, Spain, Gibraltar, Belgium,Luxembourg, Holland, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Italy, and Slovenia, and has also travelled around Morocco and Algeria in North Africa and lived in France, Spain and The Netherlands for a while.

I now live in the Welsh countryside with my pack of dogs and help other people with their dogs. I practice Transcendental Meditation and have also done the Medicine Lodge or Tipi Ceremony. I like to play guitar and sing a little, to relax in the evenings.

There are spare guitars, drums and a didgeridoo for helpers to use if they want too and you are welcome to join in and make music, play, sing or dance. You are also welcome to bring your own instruments, or just listen.

If you are interested in coming to help with the dogs, and experience a different way of life compared to the rat race, make music or meditate, you are welcome to send me a message. Look forward to meeting you and sharing stories.

Best wishes. Terry.



Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use