Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 13169
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes,
Area (ha): 4ish
Persons: 2-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13169
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 9, 2018

Descriptive in Spanish after the English.
We are looking for one or two helpers for October.

We are at 2000m of altitude in the National Park of Sierra Nevada, full South facing, sea views available, even Africa on the right day. Half an hour forestry/mountain track and then 15 minutes to the nearest village by car.
Mountain farm, mainly walnuts (160+), with other fruit trees having been planted, and more to plant over the coming years...
We moved here in 2011, with the farm having been dormant for the last 15 years. The farm is now up to comfortable all year living standards, completely off the grid. We have our own water supply from several springs that never dry up and use solar and wood for energy.
We are a couple, speaking half a dozen languages as we are Spanish, Swiss and British, having retired here to La Alpujarra after a rather active life around the world.
Our two boys are grown up and live in different countries.
We wish to receive people who can offer around 4-5 hours a day, five days a week of all kind of help managing the farm. Hours to be flexible, due to the local weather conditions along the year.
We strongly suggest that people with respiratory issues do not apply during the warm season as there are a lot of pollens and dry grass.
Following some unfortunate experience we now ask volunteers not to smoke during their stay, indoors and outdoors. If this is not possible, then please do not come here, it will save us all some hard feelings. Also as we use septic tanks, no antibiotics should be used.
Obviously seasons will dictate the work. We feel that 3 to 6 weeks for a stay is a good amount of time, depending on the work needed to be carried out. Shorter is not practical, and longer stays could be negotiated once we know each other better.
We request a minimum stay of at least three weeks, as any trip down the valley is a 100km round trip.
We offer comfortable accommodation, with own kitchen, wood stove/oven, heating and shower room. Food will be provided and cooked according to everyone's needs. Isa cooks the main lunch, breakfast and supper are prepared by the volunteers for themselves from the provided food. We tend to bake our own organic bread and cakes, and benefit from the exceptional freshness and quality of the local fruits and vegetables down in the valley. We try to go down once a fortnight for provisions.
Internet access available at cost from the satellite provider (10€/GB). We recommend you bring your own dongle or have a mobile contract with data allowance.
We wish to stress that electricity comes from batteries, and needs to be used efficiently during cloudy days.
The place is very quiet, and would definitely please those who wish to take time to read, walk, spend a relaxing time on their own within a pristine nature environment. We do not provide social entertainments, but obviously share our experiences with those interested.
There is a large water tank that can be used as swimming pool by those courageous enough to brave mountain water at it's freshest. (In summer, it's really great!)
There are also two mountain-bikes available, and the access forestry track is easily managed, running at an average 2000m altitude with tremendous sceneries, and various wildlife.
We have three big dogs and two cats with us.
Those who wish to join us have to be prepared for weather changes and bring appropriate clothing and footwear. We are at 2000m, and do experience some weather flukes, but rare. Insurance wise we request that you are fully insured as Spain is rather protective with their Social Security system. EU nationals can request the blue card from their own NHS. There is no transport available besides ourselves, and any round trip will take around three hours. So our travels have to be time and costs effective.
We therefore strongly advise people to consider if they can manage living in remote conditions and deal with that for the duration they wish to be with us. Also during the summer months, allergic to pollen or other hay fever triggers and insects (bees, wasps, spiders, flies etc...) should not visit us.
Finally, we are a mountain farm, so it is imperative that you understand that some physical work is required from you, with a little initiative for the various tasks. But nothing extenuating.

Necesitamos ayuda para recoger las nueces desde el 15 de octubre al 15 de noviembre.

Finca en la Sierra Nevada a 2000 metros de altitud, mirando al sur, con magnificas vistas al Mediterraneo y Africa.
Tenemos 160 nogales y otros frutales,agua fresca y natural de los manantiales y utilizamos placas solares par la electricidad. La calefacion es con estufas de leña.
Estamos a 12 kms por la pista forestal, una media hora mas 15 minutos mas hasta el proximo pueblo.
vivimos aqui desde abril 2011, y ahora la casa es confortable en invierno y verano.
Somos una pareja, española y suizo-britanico, asi que hablamos varios idiomas. Nuestros 2 hijos son ya adultos e independientes.
Hemos decidido retirarnos a la Alpujarra por su hermosura, tranquilidad y clima.
Buscamos voluntarios dispuestos a trabajar unas 4 a 5 horas dependiendo de tiempo, 5 dias a la semana.
Si tienes problemas de ashma o respiratorios, mejor no venir en primavera-verano, a causa del polen y el polvo.
Por favor, no queremos fumadores.
Preferimos que la estancia sea de 3 a 6 semanas, sobre todo en invierno donde es posible quedarse aislado por la nieve.
Ofrecemos un confortable dormitorio, cocina, estufa de leña y cuarto de baño (ducha).
Nosotros cocinamos el almuerzo, pero el desyuno y la cena es preparada por cada uno en la cocina comunal. Proveemos verdura fresca, carne y frutas, tambien un buen vino de la Alpujarra.
Hacemos el pan en la estufa y tambien pasteles, bizcochos y demas, con harinas organicas.
Tenemos internet pero para utilisarlo teneis que pagar el costo neto de la empresa provedora por satelite. Mejor venir con su propio acceso (pincho o contrato movil).
Como la electricidad es con placas, si hace dias sin sol, tambien hay una limitacion.
Como es un sitio muy tranquilo y aislado teneis que amar la naturaleza y poder pasar tiempo leyendo, paseando, jugando con el perro...
Tenemos un deposito de agua que utilizamos como piscina en el mes de julio y agosto. !Es agua fresca de la montaña!
Hay 2 bicicletas que podeis usar por la pista.
Tambien tres mastines y dos gatos.
Teneis que tener vuestro propio seguro y seguridad social.
Os recogeremos y llevaremos de vuelta, pero todo viaje además tiene que ser discutido ya que son unas 3 horas, ida y vuelta.
Si pensais que podeis soportar todas estas condiciones, entonces podeis venir... es fantastico!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use