Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 13178
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13178
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 14, 2011

About us and the place:

We just recently moved to the small village of Cherven in the Northeast of Bulgaria, in the Ruse area. We, this is Ian, an Englishman who decided to settle down in this lovely country, and Kate, an Austrian girl who just couldn't get away from this country once she was here. We are living now in a nice old house that provides us with everything we need for a living. There are several bedrooms and a nice kitchen with a good wood-fired oven, where we cook, live and sleep. The bathroom is in a room outside of the house. Again there is a wood-fired boiler and a flush toilet. Our plan is to build compost toilets in the garden, though. Also for the winter we are building a mobile compost toilet that can go in the house in one of the rooms. The house came with a nice garden, a big orchard full of fruit trees and a vineyard that also allows a big vegetable crop. We have many plans for this place, so the volunteer opportunities vary from season to season.
The house was once owned by a Bulgarian artist and evidence of his work is still visible in the garden and the room that was his studio.

About the work:

Our main goal before the winter is to restore the vineyard. Basically, it hasn't been taking care of for a number of years, same for the vegetable crop. So there is a lot of weeding to do. Tasks also include quite some digging. The vines need to be cut down once the area has been cleared out.
If we get along well, the next step would be to prune the fruit trees. Along with that there is some dry wood in the orchard that needs to be collected, cut into smaller pieces and stacked.
Should there be a rainy day, there is another little building just next to the entrance of the garden. It needs some cleaning and winter-proofing.
In general, we are very thankful for every volunteer who comes with a bit of knowledge about gardening and farming. There is a lot of potential in this place and we are open for suggestions.


You can sleep in one of the bedrooms. As long as the nights are chilly, it is going to be the one with the fireplace in it. As soon as the building in front is prepared you can also stay there and have a little apartment for yourself. In the autumn and spring time we can only host 2 persons maximum that have to share a bed, unless one of you wants to sleep on the floor. We would recommend bringing a good sleeping bag.
You will get three meals a day. Please be prepared for mostly vegetarian food. We are not vegetarians but we don't buy meat very often.

More information:

There is a minibus that runs from Ruse twice a day. It drops you off at the centre of the village where we can pick you up. If needed we could organize a pick-up from the city as well.
During your time off you can go hiking around the area, it is a lovely region just in the national park Rusenski Lom. Our village has the remains of a very important Medieval town that you could explore and the whole area is known for its great natural biodiversity. Moreover there are some sightseeing points in the villages around, so there is plenty to do.
Good to know: Between us we speak German, Spanish, French and English and are of course both desperately trying to learn Bulgarian.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use