Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 13537
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: ONLY May to end October
Area (ha):
Persons: 1, maybe couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 13537
Country: Luxemburg

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 11, 2014

** NO more helpers needed until the remainder of the year - thank you to all my wonderful helpers! **

Hello! Moien! Guten Tag! Bonjour!

My name is Hilde and I am proud to be the first host in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg!

I recently had a bad fall, which sees me going in and out of hospital. In the mean time, I have a lot of work to catch up with relating to my AirBnB cleaning, tidying and ironing our garden, and small repairs and renovations. I also need help with our boisterous family dog Jedi (a mix of labrador and German shepherd), who is very much like a big puppy.

I would love three (3) honest hours of help per day in exchange for half-board: accommodation and breakfast in my beautiful house. Please note that I do NOT offer lunch or dinner, but you have full access to my kitchen facilities and food can easily be bought in the village or in the big shopping centre, which is only a ten minute bus ride away. If this sounds good and you are happy to get stuck in with whatever needs doing, I would love to hear from you! I do require genuine input and you will often have to use your initiative, so priority will be given to mature helpers (23+) with reviews that can work independently!

I have lived in Luxembourg for 27 years and my two children were both born here: my son Yani (20) lives at home and Emilie (27) moved out eight years ago, has been HelpXing around New Zealand for a year and has now settled down in Australia. At home we mostly speak Flemish (we are originally from Belgium) as well as English. We also speak French and German fluently and I am currently studying Italian for which I would love someone to practice with! We live in Mamer, about 7km West of the capital city, which is in easy reach. I do not have a car, but there are frequent busses leaving every 15 minutes from the end of our street and if you can repair them, you are always welcome to use any of the bikes to go and explore.

I am very keen for you to enjoy our beautiful country! Despite its size, there is so much to see and do (see website). It will only take you 30 minutes from the capital to reach the surrounding countries Belgium (West), Germany (East) and France (South). I would be more than happy to advise you on where to go and am happy to include you in any activities we have going on! For an excellent taster of the country watch this promotional video:

IMPORTANT: Please note that due to time constraints, my daughter is fully in charge of my HelpX profile and e-mail correspondence. If you wish to speak to me directly, please give me a call, but make sure to write us an e-mail first so that we have your contact details and personal information!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use