help exchange   Host 13540
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 33 hectares
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13540
Country: Poland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 10, 2020

The farm is in the beautiful Kashubian countryside of northern Poland, about 100 km from Gdansk. It is surrounded by pine and birch forests with miles of sandy tracks for walking, cycling or horse riding. I grow most of my own vegetables and a small surplus for sale and sharing with friends. I also grow herbs and dye plants. There are 2 horses, 2 sheep, 6 chickens, a dog and a cat. I earn some of my income from teaching English. In my spare time I am involved in organising local theatre festivals and working with a youth theatre group. I also weave and sell hand-woven scarves and shawls. I am trying to become as self-reliant and low impact as possible. I need help from April to October with on going work around the farm, forest and gardens and with the horses, as well as with various small building projects and general maintenance of fences and wooden buildings. My neighbour and I have marked out a nature trail around the farm and some work needs to be done on this. Volunteers usually work about 4 or 5 hours a day and have 2 days a week free but these arrangements can be flexible. The accommodation I can provide is very simple, in a small wooden cabin with an outhouse, no electricity or running water but you are welcome to use the bathroom in my cottage nearby and spend rainy evenings with the electric lights! Some shared meals (vegetarian)and food provided to cook some meals for yourself. Good internet access. I speak English and Polish as well as very basic French. You need to be independent, not mind "roughing it" a bit and not mind periods of solitude and isolation - it's possible to get to the nearest town (20km) by bus but not easy to get back unless you hitchhike. I welcome couples or two friends together although people travelling alone can apply too.
Update: As of 2019 I have been joined by a French speaking Swiss friend with her 3 children. We are starting to develop a more productive vegetable and cut flower garden based on permacutlure principles and we are planning to sell our products at local markets. We would appreciate help in this project as well as in the activities listed in the main description. We would also now welcome volunteers with children.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use