Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 13590
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 6
Category: Other
Host ID: 13590
Region: Quebec

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 13, 2012

(english text follows)
Je suis qubcoise et vit avec mon maris qui est runionnais, avons voyag et particip des projets bnvoles autours du monde, c'est expriences nous ont beaucoup appris et donne envie de proposer un projet : Crer un lieu rassembleur, pour les voyageurs et artistes qui ont envie de dcouvrir et vivre dans la nature.

L'an dernier nous avons achet un terrain et une vieille maison ancestrale situs dans la valle de la Matapdia en Gaspsie. Le site, les gens, les projets sont formidables.

Le projet est de crer une auberge et un centre de rsidence artistique. Nous voulons proposer hbergement ecologique: cabanes dans les arbres, yourtes, teepees. Et sur le terrain, il y a plusieurs sources d'eau potable et nous songeons a un moyen de faire un spa rustique...
Bref, un gros projet. Nous en sommes au tout dbut, nous avons dj commenc les dmarches de dmarrage d'entreprise avec la municipalit d'Amqui et les gens nous aident mettre le projet sur pied. Mais il y a beaucoup faire, dans plusieurs domaines.
Pour l'instant nous sommes en train de rnover la maison, un btiment de 125 ans tout en bois constuit l'ancienne, par les colons de la rgion.

La maison est trs rustique, mais habitable. Nous serons de retour sur notre super chantier ds la mi-mars.

Le travail est trs flexible comme il y a beaucoup faire. Il y a beaucoup de construction l'intrieur ou l'extrieur, cloisons, fentres, planchers, il y a de la dmolition et de la reconstruction, lectricit, plomberie, des petites choses aussi, de la peinture, de la recherche de matriaux recycls... Sur le terrain, nous avons aussi un jardin bio, qui produit une grande varit de fruits et lgumes, il y a aussi de l'entretien, plantation. Vous n'avez pas faire tout cela! Vous pouvez choisir selon vos intrts.

L'horraire habituel est: petit-dejeuner 8:20, nous dcidons ce que nous ferons durant la journe, travail de 9am 1 pm, le lunch est prt, pause jusqu' 2pm,puis travail jusqu' 16 heures. Le samedi aprs-midi est libre et le dimanche toute la journee.

I'm french-canadian and I live with my husband Jerome who is from the Reunion island, we traveled around the world, participated in many volunteer jobs. It inspired us to developp our own project: create a gathering place for travellers and artists who want to live in the nature.

Our project is to create an hostel and a artistic center. We propose ecological-hosting: three house, yourt, teepees. On the land, there are many water springs and we are thinking about building rustic spa.
So it is a very big project. Now, it is just the start. The city is already helping us to create the business, but there is a lot to do, to build and to fix.
At the moment, we are doing renovations in the ancestral house. A 125 years old building, that we want to restaurate. The house is very rustic at the moment but it is possible to live in. From mid-march, we'll be back at work so if you'd like to join us, have more infos, pictures you can contact me and it will be a pleasure to answer to you.
The area is beautiful, wery wild, there are many lakes, rivers, ski resort, hikes.

The work is very flexible, as there is so much to do you can choose. Mainly we do construction inside and outsite, stairs, floors, electricity, but there are also smaller tasks: paint, research for recycled materials...
We also have a bio garden with fruits and vegetables witch always need care. So you don't have to do all these jobs! you can choose according to your interests.
The schedule of a day is we have breakfast together at 8:20, decide what we'll do during the day, work from 9 am to 1pm lunch is ready, and after from 2pm to 4 pm. on saturdays we only work in the mornings, afternoon is OFF and Sunday is free day.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use