Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 13642
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Oyster Cove
All Year: September - March
Area (ha): 2.9
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13642
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 18, 2017

We live 5 minutes walk away from Oyster Cove which lies within the D'Entrecasteaux Channel. We have a small market garden with a variety of vegetables that we sell locally, and to restaurants in Hobart. We also have a food truck that we use to cater for private functions and pop-up dinners around Hobart where we cook delicious meals using our produce.

There are 3 of us (including our 17yo son) living in a strawbale house that we built ourselves. Food is a big focus in our lives - we eat well from our produce (see our website and Instagram for more details). When we are not gardening, cooking or eating we love to swim in Oyster Cove, mountain bike (in the nearby reserve), bushwalk and travel

The helpers we like the best are enthusiastic, hardworkers who have a genuine interest in food - how it's produced and prepared. You become part of our family when you stay with us - we work, eat and hang out together.

We have a small bedroom and a cute, cabin for accommodation. The beds are comfortable and all bedding is provided.

Helpers would work in the gardens doing weeding, harvesting, planting, preserving, animal feeding, cooking, helping in the food truck, cleaning. There may also be some building jobs to be done.

We expect you to work 5 hours work a day doing varied tasks. This includes the time spent preparing and cleaning up after meals. In return, you will get accommodation, 3 meals and use of the internet.

Non-smokers only! Also, we can cater to vegetarians.

Note: some helpX people are finding that our replies go to their junk/spam box in their email. Please check your junk email in case. We will always reply if you write to us personally!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use