help exchange   Host 13718
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cotes d'Armor
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1ha
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 13718
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 11, 2014

We are an English family of 4, Annie and Christopher and children, Luke 21 (at Uni) and Amy 16. We have lived in France for nearly 9 years. Our home is our business. We live on an old farm which is no longer active, but we have so far converted some of the outbuildings into gites (3) and we operate a chambres d'hotes. We also both teach english as a foreign language so this doesn't leave us much time for managing the land.

So there is always plenty to do: fencing, logging, building stone walls, renovation, painting (outdoor and indoor), gardening (we are keen to restart our vegetable garden), gite changeovers and laundry, helping with the animals (one cat, one dog, about 10 chickens and 2 goats.

There is a challenge for anyone who is interested in landscaping as we have yet to turn the rear garden from a field to an interesting space includingsome decking, and also have plans for a small duck pond.

Our home is only 1.5k from amazing wide sandy beaches, which are a haven for land yachting, para surfing, windsurfing, sailing, or just relaxing. Nearby there are horseriding facilities. Our nearest village is 1.5k in the other direction housing everything you need - banks, library, shops, bars, post office and a large Sunday market. In the summer the village hosts numerous free festivals.

We have both english and french friends and we are both involved in the local anglo:french association, this would be an excellent opportunity for helpers to meet the local people and practice either french or english. At home we speak English though we all speak french to a variety of levels. Chris, Luke and Amy also speak various levels of Spanish.

There is a variety of equipment on site for your entertainment including bicycles, trampoline, table tennis, etc.

We enjoy meeting people from around the world and have loved getting to know our chambres d'hotes and gite visitors - some of whom return year on year. Helpx is a fantastic opportunity to add our experiences. We look forward to sharing our home with you.

Spring/Autumn/Winter helpxers would be very welcome. We have a lot of maintenance jobs to be addressed (indoor and outdoor) as well as a new kitchen to be installed. During high season - July/August we are unable to host helpexers as (fingers crossed) all our accommodation will be full with paying guests.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use