Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 13839
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5 acre
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 13839
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 19, 2018

Hello, I am currently seeking people to stay for a week or two to tidy up our place a bit. Work includes digging garden beds, weeding, cutting grass, spreading mulch, spring cleaning the house and cooking meals if you're able as it's always appreciated. I am interested in permaculture and organic growing, and just making a nice garden to live in.

My family consists of me and my eight year old daughter (Elouise), we also have two kittens and at the moment my 20 year old son is sometimes here.

We live in Bruthen which lies between the foothills of the great dividing range. Bruthen is somewhat of a gateway to forests, national parks and beaches to the east, lakes systems to the south and mountains (including snow-fields) to the north. It is possible to do a day-trip to go skiing as Hotham is less than 2 hours drive away. Bruthen is situated alongside an old railway line which now functions as a walking track, it's also great to ride on if you're into biking. Bruthen is also a bit a rural culture-hub and hosts it's own music festival every February.

We live on a largish block on the outskirts of town. Our house is of moderate size with a nice garden out the back.


In the garden there are always things to the moment we have 2 vegetable patches, a berry patch, some old and new fruit trees....but everything needs attention as I have been too busy to get enough into the garden. I would love to set up a grey water system for the vegies, plumbing skills would be great! Help around the house and entertaining the little one is also always appreciated! I ask for approximately three to four hours work per day in exchange for board and food. Please provide your own alcohol and chocolate! We are happy recyclers, opp shoppers and tip browsers!

We have a caravan (which also houses some of my second-hand clothes collection!) to be used for accommodation. It's a 6 berth van so should do for 1 or 2 (it has a small double bed and bunks). It has electricity and a heater for cold weather! Bathroom is inside the house.

I work part-time running a Steiner playgroup and also jointly run an art cooperative shop in Bairnsdale in which I sell recycled clothes and work one day a week in the National Park. I also get paid to take photographs when I am lucky. I am involved in the local arts community and there are usually events on and interesting things to join in with! I have a piano, a violin and a piano accordian all of which I am not very good on, but you are welcome to use!

We eat meat sometimes but will happily cater for vegetarians or vegans. We eat good hearty food, as organic as possible. You are welcome to smoke outside. Please contact us via email. WiFi available.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use