help exchange   Host 1392
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April-October
Area (ha): 24 acres
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 1392
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 2, 2020

** Openings August - September 2020 **

We are located in the Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia. We live in a quiet hollow, with no neighbors in sight. There are no city lights, and you can see every star on a clear night!

Running a homestead is hard but rewarding work. Homesteading is not for the faint of heart. It requires a certain strength of character to chose such a life.

We have a lot you can be involved in, knowledge to share, friendships to build, and opportunities for growth. Below are our daily routines, projects, and wish list. We would love to involve you!

- Caring for our horse, chickens, ducks, cats, dog, and honey bees. Sue is a fourth generation beekeeper and has much knowledge to share.

- General landscaping upkeep such as mowing and weed whacking.

- Caring for fruit trees.

- Plant, cultivate, and harvest fruits and vegetables. Assist with home-canning (preserving) of fruits and vegetables.

- We have various construction and home improvement projects.

- Helping prepare meals. Ruth loves to cook. Sharing recipes from around the world is one of her favorite things.

- Building a green house

- Build birdhouses

- Build a dry stack rock retaining wall

- Making scrapbooks. Crafters welcome!

- Organizing and cleaning

- We would like to install solar panels. Someone with knowledge and experience with this would be a great help!

We have an area for evening campfires where we sit, talk, roast hot dogs, eat s`mores, and star gaze.

Work is done according to priority and situation at the time. A typical day might include all or limited aspects of the above, or it may involve something completely different. Five hours of work per day are negotiable and according to the weather. We ask for a 3 week stay, but can negotiate depending on your skills.

You will be staying in our private guest cabin (see picture below). The cabin is very small and cozy, with steps going up to a covered porch. There is a very small study/sitting room. The very small kitchenette has a mini refrigerator, hotplate, microwave, toaster oven, and food provided. Private bath facilities. There is a ladder going to a very extra small sleeping loft which sleeps 1. This cabin is used during warm weather only. There is a cellar below.

In your free time you can enjoy a good book while relaxing in our hammock. We have a piano, guitar and ukulele you may use upon request. We can show you around the area as there are many beautiful places to visit! Our state offers hiking, fishing, rock climbing, zip lines, swimming, photographic opportunities, and much more.

WiFi and cell service is limited at our home, but readily available in town.

We are looking for someone reliable, not afraid of hard work, and self motivated. You must be an early-riser, and have an inner enjoyment of nature.

We are near the Appalachian Trail. If you are hiking the trail you may come take a week or two down time. We can pick hikers up in Pearisburg, Virginia or make a special arrangement for pickup at Wood Hole Hostel.

Smoking and drinking are not allowed on our property.

We can help you plan your transportation route if needed.

Feel free to ask questions. We look forward to hosting you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use