Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 13933
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

South Molton
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.4 plus woodland
Persons: 1 single or a Couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 13933
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 27, 2014

At the moment (March 2014)I urgently need help in the house and garden because my husband and I are both 'getting on' and I haven't been all that well recently.

Gordon and I are a retired couple who live in a lovely part of rural England and who have hosted wwoofers and helpxers for several years.

I grow vegetables for our own use and to sell. I also market my own jams and chutneys. (I say 'I' because I do most of the work now: Gordon is 84 and can't do so much.)

We have some elderly free range hens, a collie-type dog and a cat. We did have rescue ponies but felt we were getting too old to keep them and found good homes for them.

Ours is a small scale operation but we enjoy meeting people from different backgrounds and we value the help we're given.

We offer visitors a nice, comfortable room with double bed (an extra single bed can be made available) with washbasin and simple cooking facilities if required, although all our visitors to date have been happy to share our meals. (Which is nice because it gives us an opportunity to chat around the dining table.)

If our main guest room is taken we do have some alternative accommodation to offer.

In addition to the veg field we also own a small wood but for safely reasons we only allow those who can prove they have chainsaw experience to work there.

There are always jobs to do in the house and garden and we ask our visitors to help for 6 hours per day Monday to Thursday. (They are free to do whatever they choose for the other three days).

We are on the bus route between Exeter and Barnstaple but guests often arrive by train at Tiverton Parkway, which is about 35 minutes away by car and we are happy to collect them and deliver them back there at the end of their stay.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use