Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 13997
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Near Wellington
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: Couple/ 2 friends
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13997
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 21, 2018

We are looking for help NOW for 1-2 weeks. We would prefer a couple with some experience.

There is always jobs to be done on a small farm, we have Chickens, Goats, Sheep, and Ducks which are fed daily and a large garden area that needs regular maintenance.

The sort of jobs that we need help with are:

VEGETABLE GARDEN - weeding, planting vegetables, watering, development and maintenance.

GENERAL GARDENING - clearing weeds, building garden beds, adding weed mat and bark mulch. Sometimes hard work but very rewarding to see the results when completed.

Transplanting small trees, planting new shelter plants.

Clearing up garden waste.

FIREWOOD - Chopping, stacking, and moving firewood into the shed.

HOUSEHOLD - help with meal preparation, dishes, keeping the kitchen clean and tidy and other basic housework. I have a back injury that makes cleaning floors painful for me so help with vacuuming and wooden floor washing is always welcome.

THISTLES - a classic farm activity that involves walking the farm with a tool and cutting back any thistles found. As we do not use chemical sprays this is an important ongoing task.

PAINTING AND BUILDING MAINTENANCE - we have several buildings that need minor repairs and to be painted.

ANIMAL CARE - clearing out sheds and runs, daily feeding and watering, assisting with other general activities.

We provide good food and cooked evening meals and comfortable private accommodation in return for 4-5 hours work per day.

Where are we?
We are located in a beautiful private valley in the Gladstone District in the Wairarapa. This is 1.5 hours from both Wellington and Palmerston North.
There is a daily Train service from Wellington (our stop is Carterton), I will collect you from the train station. If you are traveling by car I can send you a link to a detailed map.

Who are we:
We are a small busy family of 3.
We are friendly people who enjoy a wide variety of food and company.

Gordon is a computer professional who works from his home office most days. Gordon loves music and has a very large digital music database.

Petra manages the household and our small farm. She also makes SOAP to sell.


High speed WiFi is available for access to the internet, skype, email etc.

Our Pets:
We have 4 very friendly house dogs including a young active dog and 3 cats.

TO CONTACT US:
Please email first, with the dates that you would like to visit.








Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use