Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 1406
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.18
Persons: 1, 2 or more
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 1406
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 3, 2014

I have just returned from 8 weeks in UK & so just getting back into the swing, having had useful people staying while I was away.
but not so many this year which is a bit of a relief as I am busy getting a Solar hot water system set up after getting solar panels last year, also importantly various upgrades on the house & little jobs like cleaning the pool & weeding the veg patch.
After a frantic 8 weeks of olive harvesting things can now settle down & get some spring cleaning done (I would like to add that KIM BUTTON did not stay with me & what she wrote was wrong & somewhat malicious, It was not intended that she stay at that time!!) & also importantly weed the veg patch then try to finish the building work. I am in the UK from May till July 7th? I bought this finca/cortijo 7 1/2 years ago, the land mostly flat & irrigated by acequia & alberqua/pool.There are sheep here from time to time better than mowing the grass,
I have about 80 almond trees,which need harvesting now done, 80 olive trees(Winter,I will need quite a bit of help),50 citrus,some avocados, various others & am growing vegetables. I adhere to Organic principles & have done Permaculture courses in UK, but Spain is almost a new growing world to me, (but getting a grip now, I think) & there is plenty to do, the house is large & spacious & own room with own key is available, I am easy to get on with as long as you do not try to take unreasonable advantage, I love laughing & making others laugh also adventures these are some of the spices of life, look forward to hearing from you, need help with general garden work & ,rebuilding stone terrace walls only 3'-4'high, finishing off large pool/ water storage,other work may occur in a nearby social centre from time to time(optional) the house is in the country between Granada & the coast, in the Alpujarras(Orgiva) , phone usually in most evenings except Monday& Thursday(out after 8 or so) after 7 PM. I PREFER HELPERS TO BE MINIMUM AGE OF 25, it is quiet here & 2 miles from town so very peaceful with great views, 2 weeks minimum stay unless arranged beforehand or by agreement & give a reasonable notice of wanting to move or as arranged initially I am also looking for RELIABLE long stay helpers so that I can get away occasionally & just now anybody to help with some construction work, experience or willingness to have a go at it. Most types of food catered for & quantity as desired so if you need more please say also we will usually visit food shops as soon as you get here to cater for anything you want( not caviar or sharks fin on ethical grounds), work 25-30 Hrs/ wk or as arranged over 3,4 or normally 5 days, help with cooking also desireable, I find most helpers like to cook(I will do the washing up!!). Please be open & mention anything that could improve your stay & experience. When looking at the map my place is just below the point where it says Benizalon,if you get on to large scale & hybrid you can see exactly where my house is; to the left of the road & the only house with large white balls on the gate posts/pillars at an angle to the road, which continues/winds down to the 7 eye bridge over the river where it rejoins the main road. this road is no longer easily driveable due to the river washing away the road but main road OK.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use