Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 14091
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.4
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14091
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 31, 2013

**Helper vacancies June 2013**

Babs and I would love to be hosts for one person OR a couple at our property. My partner and I work full-time and so would love to have some help with gardening (mowing, weeding, raking, fertilising, pruning, watering, sweeping etc), stacking wood, collecting kindling, and general maintenance of our property. We also hope to start our own vegetable garden soon. But luckily in the meantime we are in regular supply from my mum's vegetable gardens (for e.g. butter and green beans, mushrooms, zucchini, carrots, broad beans, potatoes, silver beet, sweet corn, cabbage, pumpkin, lettuce, capsicum) , orchard (lemons, apples, strawberries, blueberries, gooseberries, raspberries, tayberries, tomatoes) and fresh chicken & duck eggs too! Happy to share this fresh Tasmanian produce with you.

We have cats, dogs and fish and a lot of Australian native wildlife like Tasmanian Pademelon, Bennetts Wallaby, Brushtail & Ringtail Possums, Kookaburras, Bandicoots, Potoroos, assorted Birds and the occasional Echidna & Platypus that come to visit us. You would need to love animals and the outdoors. We are easy going down to earth people.

We live about an hour from Cradle Mountain and our property backs onto a river and we have a creek running alongside our property as well. Devonport & Sheffield (The Town of Murals) are both only 15 minutes away. Great base to explore local attractions, award winning wineries, nature walks, hiking, caves, fishing, swimming and fresh local produce! Additional bonus is you would only be 20 minutes away from the beach & Tasmazia!

We can pick up and drop off helpers at Devonport or Sheffield. Due to our work commitments we can only provide a very small amount of transport during your time with us (mainly weekends), so best if you have your own. But happy to when we can.

Accommodation is private, self contained & separate from the main house in a comfortable caravan with queen sized bed, refrigerator, television and DVD player (we have a collection of DVD's), books & cooking facilities, plus your own separate bathroom/laundry with toilet, shower, heater, fan, hand basin and washing machine. You will be drinking fresh rain water during your stay :) On clear nights you can watch the starry night sky & spot the many wallaby that gather in the paddocks to fill up on grass and during the day fish or take a dip in the river metres away. We have busy lives and even though we are eager for our helpers to join us in some of our activities, we also need helpers to be independent. If you think you could enjoy relaxing at our place let us know! :)

We would only require 2 hours of work per day as we would ask you to provide & cook your own food (of course would be lovely to share a few meals) OR as we are very flexible you could do 4 hours one day for the next day off for example. Hours are flexible and negotiable basically. Initially there will be tea, coffee, sugar, toilet paper, soap, shampoo & conditioner, etc.
ID required please. Unfortunately we are unable to sign 2nd visas.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use