Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 14142
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14142
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 26, 2017

We have recently moved from Turkey where we hosted HelpX for 5 years. All of the reviews below prior to 2017 are with reference to that listing. We aim to continue our animal rescue and organic permaculture here in France.

We have a copse to restore and gardens to establish so there is plenty to keep us occupied.
We are also renovating a barn and so there are always on going projects.

We would require our helpers to have a good sense of humour and common sense and to be adaptable as life here is less than predictable. We never know what the day will throw at us and so are wary of making too many plans!

We would also require and trust helpers to keep their more than adequate accommodation clean and tidy and leave it as they found it and respect our home. We are VERY particular about this as we have been left with appalling conditions to clean up on a number of occasions.

We would like help for 6 hours a day for 5 days then 2 days off. We start work at 8 am as our animals do not not know what a "lie in" is! 12.00- 4.00 is free time. 4.00-6.00 is walking dogs, putting down donkey beds and feeding all the animals and generally clearing up the days work.
We have a separate half to the farmhouse for helpers so that we all have our own space. The house is fully equipped and has plenty of DVD's and we do have wifi.

The summer months are taken up with animals, walking the dogs, harvesting and managing the gardens and processing the crops. The winter months are working with the donkeys and dogs and is more maintenance and new projects...splitting wood, building a potting shed or building dry stone walls etc. There is always something needs doing. Arty projects always on the go!

Our helpers get well fed and have plenty of time
to visit the local area. We have a good village a 10 min walk away. Please let me know your dietary requirements....can provide for vegetarians but when it comes to vegans I am at a will be over to you to cook and prepare the ingredients that we shall provide.
Please come equipped for life in the country, strong shoes and warm waterproof clothes in the winter.
Please do not apply if you have animal allergies or have issues with dogs and donkeys.

This year we have had couples let us down at the last minute, this has meant that we have turned away genuine helpxers that would have enjoyed the experience here. Please respect our efforts to accommodate and keep us informed of your plans. If you have a burning need to clean or iron things please do tell me as soon as you arrive....would hate for you to not be happy!!!!!

We are looking for 2 helpers throughout the year. Singles or couples welcome.
Please check your emails when applying to us, some have been put into spam box.....we always reply.
Please re-read our profile so that you are sure we are the hosts for you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use