Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 14157
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.5
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14157
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 18, 2012

Our farm is near the Portuguese-Spanish frontier with spectacular views to Marvao and Spain. We have lived here 20 years and in Portugal 30 years so we know a lot about Portuguese life and speak Portuguese, and are quite happy to give some lessons. Our farmhouse is large and comfortable and any helpers will have the use of an independent double bedroom and bathroom and all meals. We have a very varied diet using mostly local produce and I am quite happy to teach some cooking of traditional Portuguese recipes.
The help we need is in helping maintain the land. Clearing some land, strimming grassy areas and helping repair stone walls. We need 25 hours work a week and a bit of help preparing meals and cleaning up after. We have broadband so you can check emails and skype
The farm is about 1km from a bus route but only about 2 buses a day. We can arrange to give lifts into the local towns of Castelo de Vide and Portalegre as we visit these regularly. This is not a place to come to for the night life there isnt any, but there is an abundance of empty space, beautiful countryside and wildlife. You can walk from the farm to Spain (2Km) and beyond and see only an occasional small farm.
The second half of July and the whole of August is too hot to work outside.
We have 3 very friendly dogs and two noisy Siamese cats.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use