Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 14439
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: May to Nov
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14439
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 17, 2016

We are a family trying to escape city life and settle on country side. George itís an IT engineer (working remotely), Dina itís a ceramic artist and little Jean-Paul itís just learning to walk. We found a great place in Transilvanian Apuseni mountains in the village of Sacaramb. We just move here and we will start accepting helpers spring/summer of 2016. The property is not very big but has a lot of potential to become a great permaculture place, but needs a lot of arranging since it was abandoned for several years. The first year will be mostly about getting started our permaculture project: lot of designing, landscaping, digging, building, composting and staff like this. We are planning to start also a ceramic workshop (around summer), so if you are interested on the process of making ceramics (from digging the clay, building kilns and firing) itís a good opportunity to learn. We are currently renovating our 200 year old house and we plan to move fully in March.

The village of Sacaramb is in Hunedoara county, 20km from Deva, the village has decent connection with Deva . The village is an old gold mining place full of history located in the mountains (700m) in a densely forested area. Now since the mining activity stopped in the 90th itís mostly abandoned and vacation village. Several peoples are moving in and we hope to repopulate Sacaramb in the next years.

In the garden we are planning to grow different garden vegetables strictly bio. Establish several perennial cultures and plant fruit trees, some wet lands and a pound. We do a lot of foraging around the area so this will be a big part of the activity: collecting birch juice, early spring weeds, wild cherryís, mushrooms, berries and fruits. We donít grow animals, but if you are really interested we have a friend who is shepherd and living next door and who constantly needs help on tainting for sheep/goats (if you can cross the language barrier). We are also starting a ceramic workshop.

We planning to accept volunteers starting May-June 2006 (first of May/ Orthodox Easter we canít host).

The main activity for 2016 will be landscaping and building (not sure how much of this we will be able to achieve so donít be scared you will not need to work 24 hours):
- Clean a large surface of land invaded by different invasive plans and garbage (we have a huge problem with Japanese knot-weed) and establish a perennial plantation.
- Build several areas of the garden using different kind of beds (raised beds, poly houses Ö.). There will be a lot of ground to move around.
- Build gray water filtering system/ wet lands/ pounds and landscape a river that is crossing the property. There will be some stone walls to build and carry a lot of clay for pounds.
- General construction works: build a storage house (we planning to use earth bags technique), repair a stone basement.
- Build several kilns for different proposes (rocket stoves, masonry stoves and kilns for firing ceramics). I love building kilns :).
- Building solar collectors and driers.
- Composting, composting and more composting :)
- Cutting grass and general gardening.
- Walk in the forest and pick-up plants, fruits, berries, mushrooms.
- Babysitting :D ÖThis would be of great help ?, but just if you really feel like.
Generally speaking we are learning about permaculture and living in the country side, we are not experts, so donít expect that you will be coming to a well-established farmÖ. But we have a lot of ideas and I expect that we will learn a lot of things together :)

You will be staying in our friends/neighbor house, just across the street from us (the work of volunteers will be split between the two properties). This is a very big vacation house (can accommodate 10 persons) with modern architecture (see glass house in the pictures). You will have your own private room with an incredible view (when is not fog). Most of the time you will be living alone in this house except for the week-ends/holidays when will be more people coming (you can find this house on AirBNB). You will have a private bath, kitchen with everything and good quality wifi. Our friends, you will be staying in their house: Denis, Sonia and little Andar(2 years) and Iris(6 years).

We eat little meet and only when we know where is from. I donít think (I am sure actually :) we will be able to cook for you every day, so please consider that we are going to provide food and itís up to you to cook (or imagine some other kind of way of sharing)

Helpers with kids are more than welcomed :)

Make sure you have some reference so we are able to confirm who you are :) any hospitality system would be fine (coucsurfing, bewelcome, wofing), or a up-to-date facebook profile.

My CS profile:

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use