Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 14476
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4 acres surrounded by 70+
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14476
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 6, 2012

My husband and I live with our two young children in the lovely Haliburton County. We have 6 laying hens, one sweet dog, and two cats. We live in a 104 year old settlers cabin with a new log addition on 4 acres. We are surrounded by 70+ acres with trails and 20 acre pond. Our dream is to become more self sufficient and learn the lost arts.
What we would fill our days with would depend on when you come to stay, but a few of our upcoming goals are: to get next winter's wood cut, split and piled, tear down an old shed to build and plant another vegetable garden, build an outdoor oven, paint a mural on our chicken coop, learn and prepare for a couple sheep for wool as well as honey bees, transplant trees, canning, weeding, planting, painting and redecorating inside, general maintenance, chores, and child wrangling.
We love to cook from scratch and eat as much organic fare as possible and as frugally as possible.
My husband is an IT guy and I am a novice at everything from knitting and sewing to building and farming.
We would love to open our home up to a woman or couple of any age (and would welcome travelers with children as well) with experience and an interest in young children as you will be spending most of your days with me (Erin) and the children.
We would love to learn new ways of cooking, songs, instruments, languages, traditions, wool spinning, knitting, sewing, cultures, history, and to expose our children to the same as we plan on homeschooling. We would also love to learn more about trades and building techniques.
My father and stepmother are local Certified Organic Farmers so that could be a part of the experience as well.
We have one to two spare bedrooms or we have room to place a large tent for warmer months. We also have wireless internet. It would be a pretty relaxed stay, but we would really want to get some fun and mundane projects accomplished with your help.
If you would like to learn more, please feel free to contact us via email and read more on my blog (linked in website above)
We wish you well on your journey.

go gently + be wonderful,
Erin + Mike

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use