help exchange   Host 14486
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 26
Persons: 1 to 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14486
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 1, 2019

We are looking for ONE practical person who can just potter about sorting out some jobs. We are home most of the time and just go about doing general jobs on our farm & garden. Would you like to come and join us for a bit? We aim to keep you relaxed, well fed and always included with family activities.
It is beautiful here, work is totally seasonal and changes from month to month. We are a working farm with some really fun lifestyle hobbies. We run Cows, Calves, Sheep & Lambs. We have a Pig, Chickens & Horses. We also have a super friendly Dog & Cat and a Pet Peacock.
We have a beautiful home set on a hill with a panoramic outlook of our 64 Acre Farm.
About ourselves: We are a energetic madcap family of 4, with two boys 14yr and 16yr.
We live in the beautiful well known, Gladstone Valley. Its a rural, tranquil place. Because its a Valley it has its own micro climate and natural beauty, yet we are just 15mins to all amenities.

We have a fun social environment, we enjoy having people over, love to play games, music & theatre and keep busy.
There is plenty to do and a beautiful area to relax and socialise.

Your Accommodation:
2x queen sized beds, in two rooms in a well appointed, self contained sleepout.
The sleepout has a separate shower & toilet and a living space, if you need some time out.
Access to a wireless internet connection available for email, skype and facebook.

We will provide 3 healthy meals per day & accommodation in exchange for 4-5 hours work per day.
Meals are based around produce collected from the farm and surrounding area.
Non-smokers only thanks.
We enjoy having singles but couples can work too.
We are happy to collect helpers from the train station, no self transport is required.

All tasks are both seasonal and weather dependent so different things will be a priority depending what time of year you come.
There are plenty of tasks for people with or without skills.
The kinds of things you could help us with are ......

Looking after animals, pig, cows, sheep, chickens, peacock and horses.
Feeding out hay and bale to cows during winter
Calf rearing - milk feeding calves (Aug/Sept)
General Farm Duties - moving stock, farm maintenance, maintaining fences, fixing water pipes and troughs.
General Land Management - making hay (Feb) grubbing weeds & thistles

House & Garden:
Home help - cooking meals, general kitchen help
Re-organising & tidying cupboards
General house work
Maintaining Garden - planting, weeding and harvesting

Our Hobbies include:
Board Games
Sword fighting
Running Events from our farm, Band Party, Goblin hunts, historical events
Sports - Canoe Polo, Hockey, Tennis
Amateur Theatre, Musicals
Medieval Reenactment
Costuming and Adventuring
Horses & horse games

We are evolving toward:
Event Facility / Historic Campground
Historic Events Campground
horse games training
Archery practice

Towns around our area....
Wellington - 1.5hr by car or train available via Wairarapa Line. Internet for train timetables:
Carterton - shopping & train pick up - 15min by car
Matrinborough - trendy restaurants, wine tourist town & vineyards - 15min by car
Masterton - movies & large stores - 20min by car

We look forward to meeting you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use