help exchange   Host 14771
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Detroit
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-5
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14771
Region: Midwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 29, 2012

Our new homestead is located in Detroit in a tight knit neighborhood of farmers and activists North of Six Mile and East of Woodward. This is a lovely historic neighborhood with a large close by park and easy access to both downtown and Ferndale. Palmer Park is a lovely park with a large wooded area, tennis courts, and regular events including free Saturday yoga. Those of us living in the home have been active farmers in Detroit for quite some time. We facilitate a community garden in Midtown/North Cass Corridor, and help out at other local farms as well. Your stay here will include work on our homestead, developing the garden, caring for chickens, setting up a fish farm, building a sustainable apartment in the garage, repairing and refinishing the home, setting up the grey water system, community organizing, setting up hives and work on local community projects including other community gardens in the neighborhood and community gardens in other neighborhoods. Duties will depend on ability and interest, and you will also have plenty of free time to enjoy this wonderful city. We are close to the Woodward bus line, have bicycles we can share (though we welcome you to bring your own), and you will be able to catch rides with housemates if you do not have a vehicle. We expect you to be respectful, open minded honest, hardworking, and fun loving, and we promise the same in return. You will be expected to help with household chores such as assisting in preparing communal meals and helping to keep the home clean. We are down to earth folks, laid back, radical, artists, musicians, nerds, farmers and crafters. Our home includes one young female, two young males, an eight year old boy who is over every other weekend(more in the summer) one kitty and one dog. We are all vegetarian/vegan, breakfast and dinner will be shared meals on most days, but be prepared to feed yourself sometimes as well. Accommodations may vary and will include a large finished attic space available from April until July, a small furnished bedroom available for short stays, tent space in the yard for back country fans and a backyard apartment to be available later in the year. We all speak English. Children and pets most likely welcome but depend on circumstances. Length of stay is negotiable, as little as a couple of days or as long as a couple of months. We humbly welcome you to our home, look forward to learning from each other, and can't wait to show you around our wonderful city!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use