Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 14877
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2 / 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14877
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 17, 2012

NOW: A very kind farmer has cut the worst of the weeds using his tractor.The place is looking so much better. Had a fun w/e celebrating Bastille day (Le quatorize) locally. No work today as it is Trisha's birthday.

We arrived on the 8th and the first job was to clear the huge weeds that have grown with all the sun and rain over the last two months. They are everywhere and the main offenders are 5 or 6 feet high! It will take us many days, I think. We could really do with some help :-)

We do have a singe bed and a non-tent place for a helper to stay. Do come and help us - Please.

LAST YEAR: we bought a pair of houses and barns in the Charente region of France and have started working towards making it our permanent home.
There are lots of things to do, including put in stairs, make rooms upstairs (previously grain stores), painting, repairing stone work and pointing, plumbing, electrics etc. The roof and walls are sound. There are also good sized gardens to plant and outbuildings to renovate (including an old well house that would make a good 'hide' and a bread/pizza oven to build.
Nigel and Trisha are keen DiYers but also enjoy time to relax, walk, swim, have a BBQ and a glass or three of local wine.
Accommodation is basic at the moment, a camping shower and the only flush toilet is in the living room! So you would probably need to camp (we have a tent), use our porta-loo and join us swimming in the nearby lakes.
On our last trip we had three very wet weeks. We bought one set of stairs, did some demolition work and planted some veg that will hopefully help to feed us in the summer. We will be heading back there Today (7th July) and staying for two months. We hope to make lots of progress this time and would love to have some help and company. Sorry, but non-smokers only, please.
We speak English fluently, some French and Nigel has some rusty german too.
Contact us if you would like to know more.
Photos: 1) The pair of houses in Autumn 2) and in the February snow 3) Nigel resting after wall demolition 4) Trisha resting :-) 5) from the back garden looking towards the barn roof.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use