Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 14894
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Carpineto Sinello
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 1-4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14894
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 11, 2014

WE ARE FULL FOR THE SUMMER. Please contact us for FALL help exchanges in August. Thank you!

We are a family of 4, with two young daughters aged 1 month and 2.8 years old. Monica will be away with the girls all summer so Roberto is looking for lots of help with building and gardening!

We located in southern Abruzzo, and are launching a family farm, inspired by the principles of permaculture, synergistic agriculture and Fukuoka, motivated to be as self-sufficient as possible. This means we're working simultaneously on building our home, always planting and growing, and building a small family farm business selling herbs, natural cosmetics, homemade soap, and bee products.

Building projects to be worked on this summer include:
- finishing the plaster outside and inside the house, made with straw and earth and completed by hand
- windows
- flooring: insulating with straw and lime and installing wooden floors
- completing the interior walls in light straw

We'll be caring for ourselves together, cooking and cleaning is communal. We provide meals, using ingredients from our garden, wildharvesting and purchasing local organic products. We rarely cook meat at home (unless we have a barbecue on the land) so our daily diet is almost always vegetarian. There'll be lots of shared meals outdoors on the land, a six acre plot surrounded by woods in a protected area in an often unexplored part of Italy.

We live in a rental in town, a ten minute drive from the land, with all the comforts including wireless internet access. Many enjoy biking or running/walking to the land. We have room for 4 in our house in town. You'd either have your own room or the pull out couch in the living room. Both are ideal for couples or friends willing to share a queen bed. More helpers can stay on the land in a tent during the summer.
The town of Guilmi is small, about 400 people with 2 bars, 2 grocery stores, 2 restaurants, a post office and a bank. There is bus service to local towns and to Vasto, where you'll find the nearest beach and a lovely old town center to roam. Buses arrive every day EXCEPT SUNDAY AND HOLIDAYS in Vasto from Rome and Naples, so please don't plan to arrive on these days.
We ask for 6-8 hours of help per day on average. Some days may be busier than others. We'd love to know what interests you most about staying with us and whether you have any particular skills or experiences that you'd like to share. Roberto speaks Italian and gets himself understood in English. We look forward to sharing our work, experience and dreams!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use