help exchange   Host 14950
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Allentown
All Year: Mid-Mar to mid-Nov only
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14950
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 4, 2018

Volunteers for the 2018 season mid-March to mid-November are now being scheduled. Please send a request to discuss any openings.

SCHEDULE: Typically I host volunteers from late February through mid-November, for stays of 10 to 21 days at a time. Volunteers are expected to contribute about 5 hours per day, 5 days per week, mainly outdoors in the garden, on a DIY project, or household maintenance work. Additionally, help preparing meals and/or kitchen cleanup after meals taken in common is expected.

I have a wide variety of small to medium-sized DIY and home maintenance projects that I expect to work on in 2018. The more typical homesteading projects of gardening, food preservation and poultry keeping will also continue. The homestead/garden work at any given time is determined by season and/or the weather. During summer, the garden work begins in early morning to avoid the hot hours of the day. This work will start before breakfast on the hottest days.

WHAT I'M LOOKING FOR: Necessary traits in a volunteer include: self-motivation, physical fitness for outdoor work, able to lift at least 40 pounds, and being comfortable asking enough questions until you understand the task at hand. A sociable and curious personality, eagerness to try new things, and a positive outlook will also be good fits. PLEASE NOTE: I cannot accept volunteers who are less than 18 years of age, nor families traveling with minor children. When contacting me, PLEASE include some information about yourself, your skills and experience, as well as your areas of interest so that a good match can be arranged.

ACCOMMODATION: My home is non-smoking and drug-free. Cigarette smoking by volunteers is acceptable away from the house. I respectfully ask that you not bring any illegal or recreational drugs to my home. I have a pet cat with free access to the house. If you are allergic to cats this may be problematic, although he seems to be very low on the allergen production. Volunteers are offered a small but private sleeping room, and shared use of bathroom and the kitchen.

MEALS: I cook daily from scratch, using garden produce throughout the year, and meals are taken together. While I prepare many vegetarian meals, I also consume small amounts of meat and fish. Dairy and especially eggs from the laying hens make a small but significant contribution to meals on a daily basis, and I have only limited amounts of fresh produce from late fall to late spring. I can most easily accommodate vegetarians during July, August and September. If your dietary restrictions or preferences differ, especially if you are strictly vegan or looking to volunteer outside of the summer months, I respectfully suggest you look for another host. If you like to cook you'd be welcome to prepare a favored meal.

LANGUAGE: I have some facility with Russian, and to a lesser degree, French and Spanish. However, your English should be good enough that you would feel comfortable using it without any translation help in most circumstances.

TRANSPORTATION: I am very close to a bus station for the company Bieber Bus which services the Port Authority Station in Manhattan several times each day. Pick up from and drop off from there is very easy. Pick up from the Lehigh Valley airport(ABE) or the Allentown Greyhound bus stop is also possible. When arranging international flights, keep in mind that it is sometimes possible to get a connecting flight to regional airport such as ABE for little to no extra money. I cannot provide transportation to or from major airports such as Philadelphia, Newark, or JFK.

WHAT ELSE? There are usually a number of cheap or free cultural events in my area that I like to attend while hosting volunteers. You will have opportunities to see at least a bit of the surrounding areas, and enjoy activities in your free time.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use