Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 15058
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Fresne la mere
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 15058
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 23, 2017

We are a family of four running a chambre d'hotes in Normandy. The children are 16 and 13 years old and we live in the middle of a lovely French hamlet. The area is magnificent and we are constantly still surprised by how much Normandy has to offer.You will stay in room. The room can have either a double bed or 2 single beds You may be sharing with one other helper of the same sex if you are travelling on your own.
We ask for 25 hours work a week in exchange for your food and accommodation. We also ask that you help generally with the preparing and clearing up at mealtimes, as you would in a family as well as keeping your room clean and tidy.
The room has an ensuite shower and sink and a dry toilet. There is also an outdoor toilet across the courtyard. If this room was for some reason not available you would have a room in our flat or in the bed and breakfast.
You have wifi in the accommodation but you need to bring your own device. We do not provide use of a computer.
You can borrow our bikes and if you want to explore further afield we can get you to the bus stop in Falaise. The area is famous for the D-day sites and cider and cheese. You also have the medieval history in Bayeux, Falaise and Caen. Some helpers choose to hire a car for a weekend to explore which you can do from Caen or from Falaise if you are over 25.
We would prefer a non-smoker or an extremely considerate outdoor smoker and we have some animals here such as a cat 2 goats 8 sheep chickens rabbits and guinea pigs.
We are more than happy to accept vegetarians, but we are not, so you may need to cook some of you own meals. We can't always accommodate dietary dislikes or vegans in our family meals so if you have a specific regime you will also need to be happy to cook dinners for yourself.
We are looking for people that are self-motivated and hard-working and who are considerate and generally helpful around the house when living with others.
We have some ongoing projects as well as the day to day running and maintenance of the House and Gardens.The projects tend to be concentrated on much more in the off season months
We need to look after a small market garden and renovate a small barn into 2 rooms
During the summer we are usually very busy from April-September with the Bed and Breakfast. We are looking for people who are happy to clean the rooms and bathrooms, muck out the animals and look after the garden. There may be some project work as well.
It is important that you are able to be friendly, chatty and professional with our guests.
We speak some French and our children are fluent in French but as a family we usually converse in English. Our guests are a mixture of French and English speaking.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use