Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 15085
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 120
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15085
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 16, 2018

We live in a beautiful corner of Queensland, near the New South Wales border, in a scenic valley surrounded by mountains, with national parks and water falls nearby. We have a small cattle property (cows and calves) with two cottages rented out for short stays for guests. We are about 2 hours from Brisbane and the Gold Coast.

We enjoy welcoming people from other cultures to our home. We have a close family and our helpers are like extended family to us. We have a lot of family activities which we like you to join in with. Most of the family is musical and we have a piano, keyboard and guitar which you are welcome to use.

We need occasional help with cattle (mustering, vaccinating etc) fencing, perhaps painting, gardening, cleaning cottages etc. We use quad bikes to muster our cattle and a tractor for other farm use. I can show you how to drive a tractor if you have never used one.

We will welcome you as family and hope you will join us in our family activities. We particularly don't want you to stay in your room with your computer, as the idea of Helpx is for us to get to know each other! We want you to feel that while you are here our home is your home! We provide all meals and accommodation, plus internet in return for about 20 hours work per week, sometimes less. You have your own bathroom and bedroom in the family home. Neil is a retired English teacher who is learning French and can help you with the English language.

We will take you to town and show you the local attractions, sometimes Brisbane or a the Gold Coast. If you enjoy nature you will like it here. You need to be reasonably strong as farm work is sometimes strenuous, but overall the work is not hard and we don't expect too much from you. We appreciate it if our helpers show initiative and if they see something needs to be done, they do it. We prefer non-smokers.

We prefer stays of a month or more, but will consider less.
We can pick you up from the airport at Brisbane or the Gold Coast, or from the train in Ipswich

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use