Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 15169
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

RD3 Motueka
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3-20
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15169
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 10, 2017

Hello travellers!

If you like to interrupt your travels with some enjoyable work in an idyllic place, being creative with building and land maintenance, than we would love to host you on our land and in our family!
We've just come back from a wee holiday trip and one tree fell down and damaged our fence. Can you work with a chainsaw and love to chop and help rebuild?
Also, we need some help to build and create our new holiday place. Get creative in our hut building (walls out of rocks,, clay, wood) indoor cabinets, cupboards, table..., outside bath building, tree planting, scrub cutting, mulching, etc... or get fit with some land maintenance as normal at this time of the year and our garden and orchard loves always some help to.

We are a family of five and love living with and in nature, an organic and self-sufficient lifestyle, simplicity,the outdoors and travelling... therefore people and stories from all over the world. Our hillside land is home to 10 sheep, 2 goats (reduced from 9), a horse, one dog, cat , 3 guinea pigs (wild) and few chooks, 2 ducks as well as loads of wild animals like stags, deer, pigs, goats and loads of native birds. We consider ourselves as the guardians of this piece of paradise at the moment and enjoy its closeness to nature and town,fresh water, clean air,independent power and the view over Motueka and Tasman Bay. Most of our land is covered in bush, except for 3 ha, which we like to use for grazing, vegie gardens, orchard, fun and play and actually relaxation (learning to make time for that). We are really happy for all our helpers to give us a hand in juggling the daily challenges up here AND to give us a feeling of travelling, closeness to the rest of the world and its fascinating cultures and people.
Thanks to strong extra help our fence is cleared and rebuild. As well I am always in the process of creating veggie gardens, composts, mulches...
We started to build a bush track... clear the creek, the waterfall,...create our "camp site", build walls , a roof, a bath, toilet ... Your choice and skill can decide your area of support. And there is always enough housework to stop boredom. Additionally our kids love to play, have a tree house, and...
You will be part of our family life, be accommodated in our cosy caravan or we have some lovely camp sites and can enjoy meals with us (mainly organic, meat now and than, as available in the wild)
We are very happy to give you some insider tips etc about our beautiful area, love to chat and enjoy our own privacy in the evening (after 9pm)- so my husband and me can catch up on stuff as well, exceptions like chatting, game and movie nights for sure...
It would be best if you are independent regarding transport (kids take all the space, 1 space left). I am commuting regularly to Motueka (15min) though.
So if you love to join us for a while (5 days minimum), do contact us.
You will love it!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use