Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 15357
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sandspit
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 1 to 3
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 15357
Region: BC, Islands

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 4, 2019

We will reopen the Bayview Garden in March 2019 and will accept volunteers from April onward.

We are located in Sandspit, on Haida Gwaii, a remote archipelago in the northern part of BC. We are located quite a ways up north from Vancouver island and are on the border with Alaska: coming to the islands is a long -and beautiful- trip! Unless you fly from Vancouver (1h45mn flight)

Bayview Garden is a waterfront heritage home with a three-bedroom cottage separate from the main house.
Cheerful and comfortable, this place is at the shore of beautiful Shingle Bay in Sandspit, Haida Gwaii.
Sandspit offers easy access to tours of Gwaii Haanas, kayaking adventures, fishing charters, birdwatching, and beachcombing.
Since a few years, we operate a small Hostel within the B&B.

I am involved in other community projects, and usually will need help with keeping the place clean and tidy. There is also an ornamental garden to take care of, a vegetable garden and a small greenhouse.
It will be possible for you, if you wish, to interact with guests. It is very informal and people are friendly and outgoing.
People visiting the islands find it a very relaxing and peaceful place.
There are daily flights from Vancouver to Sandspit, where the property is located, and also a ferry coming from Prince Rupert a few times a week. I can come and pick you up at the ferry. Accommodation is usually indoors in our private area, where we have a couple of rooms, our own kitchen and bathroom, separate from the guest area.

I am a 39 year old male, originally from France and now in Canada since 10 years. This is now going to be my 9th summer on the islands. I have been and am still a helpxer myself and have travelled in Canada using both Wwoof and HelpX. I have also traveled for a few years in Australia and New Zealand, on Working Holiday Visas.
I am a long distance cyclist during the winter months and like to explore Latin american countries and Asia.
I am a former employee of a local boat tour company called the Moresby Explorers.

I have hosted many travelers over the past years. People do not always come through HelpX, but also by word of mouth. I have hosted people from France, Germany, Japan, Austria, Spain, Taiwan, The UK, Hong Kong, Australia, Canada (of course), Switzerland, Belgium, the US...

We can host usually only one person at a time, sometimes couples.

To see more pictures of the property and the area, check out our FB page link above.
For a description of the Bayview Garden and a "Family Album" of most volunteers who have helped out over the years, go to http://www.bayviewgarden.ca/about-us


Come and visit!

-----------------------------------

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use