help exchange   Host 15562
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 or 3
Category: Other
Host ID: 15562
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 1, 2020

** Because of the current situation, we are only accepting helpers who are already in the UK **

We are a busy, free-hold pub with brewery
and gin distillery in a small village beside the sea in North Devon. We serve real ales, home-made food, and run regular music nights, games night and discussion groups. We are busy with holiday-makers and residents alike, and the pub is an important part of the community here.

Depending on the length of stay and time of year, volunteers might find themselves working in the garden with general maintenance and tending to our raised beds and greenhouse or assisting in the kitchen- helping service run smoothly during lunchtime and evening sessions. Kitchen work is mainly helping keep things tidy during service, carrying food to tables, etc The nature and duration of the work varies depending on how busy we are. In the summer and at school holidays, the work will be in the kitchen. We also need some help cleaning the pub in the mornings before we open at 11am.

Generally we ask for 25 hours per week, and sometimes shifts are split between lunch and evening. We are happy to provide days and we do our best to give you those days off in a row; please be aware that weekends are our busy times.

All meals, snacks etc are provided. You will either be given meals out of the kitchen/off the menu, or you will have access to ingredients and you can cook for yourself. You may be asked to help make meals for staff and other volunteers from time to time.

In exchange for your 25 hours per week, we will provide all your meals and snacks, tea, coffee, soft drinks, staff discount on alcohol, WiFi, laundry, etc. We are only a 5 minute walk from the beach and the woods, and less than a mile from the cliffs and coastal path. We have kayaks that you can borrow if you have experience, and there are generally wellies and wet suits around!

Accommodation will either be in a shared or private room, depending on availability. Priority for private rooms are given to people staying long-term. Feel free to ask what we have available when you get in touch!

We are a friendly team here and we welcome new faces. Bill lives at the pub and occasionally you may find other family and friends staying with him. Bill's son Francis and his wife Kristy manage the pub and live nearby in the village.

We are non-smoking throughout.

We ask for a minimum of 3 weeks stay. Couples, friends travelling together, and families are welcome. Unfortunately we are unable to accept helpers travelling with pets.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use