help exchange   Host 15667
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


AHAURA
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 280
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15667
Region: West Coast

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 15, 2019

Our next space is arriving 3rd December and leave on 10th December (I have family stay at our house during middle of December) A small NZ farm but is a lovely spot to live and look out to the mountains and the bush. I can get you from Greymouth or possibly Reefton = if you do not have a car. We say yes often to solo travellers. We also say yes to couples but not as often.

We have working 5 farm dogs and 1 puppy born end of September. Many helpers fall in love with Ted a beardie/huntaway breed of dog. He is always getting pats and is our most photographed pet.

We live on a sheep and deer farm about 30 minute drive to Greymouth. We love the outdoor attractions on the west coast. Loads of stunning walks, caving, biking and adventure to be had.

One of my biggest enjoyments is showing others what we cook for dinner and then sitting down and eating as a family. We enjoy sharing stories and laughs over a cup of tea. We can explain a few aspects of farming if you are interested in knowing more. We like talking while having a cup of tea. We have 27 great reviews of past help x people over many years of hosting. We can sometimes say yes to arriving within a couple of days.

You can come live with us for between 7 nights and 18 nights. Just give me dates and we are fairly flexible unless i have a help x booked in. Once you have dates confirmed from Rachel that space is yours. Having girls that get upset when some of our help x friends leave it is too difficult for us. Just write me an email with dates you would like and we can see if there is space.
Looking at the 6 photos on our profile. Picture 1 Special mum and daughter day
Picture 2 the girls pretending to play shopkeepers at school - 2018
Picture 3 The girls on moving day
Picture 4 Rural new zealand and moving sheep
Picture 5 Max pup (mid October 2019)


Some tasks include some housework, some assisting with the girls (example they like playing in mud, climbing trees, and love riding their bikes) Doing dishes. helping in garden or Help prepare dinner. sometimes you can help with girls and feeding our pet lambs(spring). Reading story books or playing junior monoply boardgame. Nearly all of help x people say it is not difficult work it makes a huge difference to Ben and Rachel's day. At times I may leave the girls with you at the house while I help Ben on the farm. If you are comfortable about taking care of the girls.

The girls go to a small school. Total roll of about 80 kids from 5 year olds to 13 year olds.
We are living on a sheep, deer and beef farm.

We do not get helpers to help with stock work. There maybe times where you can watch dogs and animals working in the yards. But due to health and safety on (This is FARM owners decesion not ours but we need to comply for us to keep getting paid!)

We are a non smoking family but can accept smokers. I like to keep active and I like to do short walks in the area. I don`t mind showing you some tracks in the weekend. Depending on if the girls are coming or sometimes a more challenging track. I can run 5km around the farm and when i have lots of spare time i go further. I used to volunteer at riding for the disabled. Horse therapy when we were living in the north island.

You get awesome meals and won`t go hungry. I visit Greymouth around 2 days a week

We are in the process of signing up to rural internet (14/11/2019) We are just using mobile data for around the next 7 days.

There is lots of day walks in the area and I have lots of brochures at home if you want to do these. It is easier to get to them if you have your own car. But we can work it in with my town days.

Please let me know if you have any allergies. It is never a problem if I know about it. But 2 people who arrived and then they say they are allergic to a cat and we love our cat and it explores the whole house - it just meant they only stayed for 3 nights and left after this.

We do live on a farm with 5 working dogs. All dogs live outside in their own kennels 300 metres from the house. we do like hearing about your interests and hobbies. Then when you have free time you might be able to go to the sheep yards and watch the dogs work the sheep.

We have even done a few weekends away with our help x if time allows. It can be suprising seeing how the dogs work the sheep and jump the fences.

We are in our mid 30`s and have 2 daughters. Our oldest has just started school and our youngest will turn 5 March 2019. you will have your own bedroom with a very comfortable queen bed.

I like doing some wood renovation projects with small furniture. I attempt this when i have spare time during summertime.

We provide meals and accommodation in trade for four hours of work each day. Depending on the weekly activities most days i get you to help from 2pm.

We have done many exchange experiences. We have had nearly all good experiences but there is one thing that we have find frustrates us. That is when help x are spending most of the day/night in the bedroom. We want to share experiences with you too. Cup of teas, we drink quite a few while we chat away.

We live on a farm and we do eat a lot of farm raised lamb or venesion produced on this farm. But I do beleive in balance so we have more than meat on our plate like delicous salads or roasted vegetables....... We can accommodate vegetarians. I would be happy to learn a few new recipes! I buy what is in season. I have a well stocked pantry so I`m sure you will find lots to create a yummy meal. I like to eat mostly healthy meals. I also like baking and making dessert!

The Cook family
Rachel and Ben

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use