Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 15763
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 15763
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 29, 2016

Rural and Wild in Romania II

Live nature, discover traditions, help shape an interesting place.
Expect to: live in rough conditions, find hard work and be in a remote place.

If some of the things in the first paragraph appeal to you and you’re not to scared of the things in the second you might enjoy coming and helping here.

The Place
is a traditional household at the very end of a village in the old Romanian and Magyar tradition and deep in the middle of nature. We are two brothers Dan and Mihai, young Romanians who have bought the house after it was empty for 20 years- it endured some decay and the surroundings got wilder.

The living conditions
will be very basic with the toilet outside and water from the fountain. The house has 2 big rooms and a covered porch. One of the rooms is livable in but that means for now, we must share it. In winter since people spend more time indoors that makes some practical issues but with good will they can be solved. I (Dan) am working on improving the other room so it can be used as a workshop and for cooking.

will be at, or around the house using mostly materials found nearby and traditional techniques or improvised ones. We would like to work, mostly by hand making it harder and maybe slower but also more tranquil and creative.
We would like 5 hours of work per day (5 days a week) that may include taking turns with cooking, that depending on your aptitude for that. Also clearing the table and washing dishes will be done by everybody. We will try our best that the food is good and enough and also that our, and your conditions improve as we go.
I think now most work now will be with clay and stone, with wood cutting, and some other tasks that need to be done. Besides the work which may be nice or less nice if you have some interest in a craft or in art you can experiment it here.
I know things about:
-woodworking in general (carpentry, carving, bow and arrow making, music instruments) ,
-drawing, painting
-building with stone, clay , wood
But if you're interested in others the chanses are i am to so we can learn them together.

The reviews i got are for a small project made in the same village and that involved also my grandparents.
I will try to keep this updated as things evolve which I hope will be soon. Until then if you want to come let me know.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use