Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 15838
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Summer/Autumn
Area (ha): 11
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15838
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 7, 2012

Fancy staying free in caravan in the beautiful Lancashire countryside and are capable of genuinely hard graft?

If you are then we really need someone as soon as possible to help us please. We are currently on a major renovation of our 20 acre small farm, which is near Garstang in Lancashire, and are working towards setting up a camping and caravan site. Do you remember the Darling Buds of May or Cold Comfort Farm from off the television? We are a mix between the two!

The farm is run by John, his son Joe, daughter Hannah, and Mick. We work out a lot, and just cant keep up with the work that needs to be done. We work in a very laid back way (most of the time), live in static caravans and have an assortment of livestock, which can be somewhat chaotic, as we dont keep regular hours.

The farm is quite remote, being down a long rough stone track, and about 1.5 miles from the nearest village, and 3 miles from Garstang. Its a very peaceful location, quiet and with no light pollution. In return for helping us (hours can be negotiated), we would offer you free accommodation in a touring caravan, eggs etc and the chance to experience the summer in a different than normal kind of way. Own transport would be an advantage, but no a necessity.

The kind of help required would be feeding poultry and livestock, lots of mowing and strimming grass, hedge cutting, painting, digging, building renovation and general tasks around the farm. The work can be quite heavy at times, and physically tiring, so you would need to be physically fit.

We are open to offers from all ages and experience doesnt matter as long as you are willing to learn. Most importantly is that you can work either alone, or with any of us, are honest, and we all get along together. You are most welcome to come down and have a look at us if interested. Hope to hear from you soon, and thank you.

This is a genuine offer from a small family farm where we are working on a very tight budget, so please, genuinely interested people only. We are sure you would enjoy your time with us.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use