Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 15967
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 15967
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 14, 2013

Looking for reliable HelpXers from 14th August - 1st October

We are a small family business with three self-catering holiday cottages and occasional Bed & Breakfast in wings of Greta Hall, a 200 yr. old listed building in the centre of Keswick in The Lake District.

In total we sleep 21 guests. 19 in three self catering apartments and 2 Bed & Breakfast.

We are a large family with 7 children (3 at university and 4 still at home... 20,18,18,15,10,7 & 5).

Both Scott & Jeronime are qualified teachers, in addition Jeronime is a qualified EFL teacher. We have spent most of our working lives up to now, working overseas.

We take full advantage of living in the Lake District and love walking the Fells, sailing, climbing, Canadian canoeing, camping, fishing & BBQs on the Lakeside. We have most of the gear you'll need to enjoy the lakes and Fells.

Basically, if you can do it outdoors... you can do it in Keswick, the Adventure Capital of the UK,

We have large grounds with woodland, garden and vegetable garden as well as chickens, ducks, rabbits, guinea-pigs & currently 5 orphan lambs.

Helpers will have plenty of time to explore the stunning countryside.

Almost all the family are vegetarian, all the meals we cook are veggie.

We have two HELPX positions available, Please let us know which one you're interested in;

I need someone to take over from me (the tidying, cleaning, laundry & cooking) so I can focus on our business.

*General everyday cleaning of family home
*'Spring cleaning' of family home - I'm happy for you to reorganise anything so make the house runs more effectively!
*Family & guest laundry (some is sent to a contract laundry)
*Cooking of family meals
*Help with family pets which include ducks, hens, rabbits, guinea-pigs & geese.
*We all clean the guest accommodation on Saturdays
*Experience in painting and decorating would be an advantage
*Occasional babysitting/collecting children from the school bus

This work requires someone who is highly organised, uses their time effectively, is conscientious, has an eye for detail and has initiative.

Scott needs an experienced right-hand 'man/woman' to work on the repair and construction projects which we always have on.
At the moment the work we need help with are;

*Cleaning gutters
*Replacing shower units / toilets / sinks / tiling
*Exterior painting
*Interior painting and decorating
*Keeping woodland tidy
*General groundswork
*Managing vegetable garden & maintaining main garden
*Keeping recycling area clean and tidy
*Cleaning out animal sheds
*Maintaining wood supplies for use on open fires / wood-burning stoves

We preferably need someone with experience, but if you're organised, use your time effectively, conscientious and can work independently you'll be OK here.
We also need someone used to working outside.

Saturday is our very busy day. We have to get all the guest accommodation ready for incoming guests in quite a short time.
You need to learn the cleaning routine. Its very important that the guest accommodation is cleaned to a high standard.

25hrs per week
Monday - Friday 9am start
Saturday 10am start
Days off Thursday and Sunday

We'd like to hear from anyone who would like to stay between 4 - 12 weeks. We always start with a 2 week trial period...good for us all.

We provide lovely accommodation on the top floor of the main family house (stunning views across the Fells) and use of one of the family bathrooms.

We have 2 living rooms downstairs where you are really welcome to spend your free time.

We offer three vegetarian meals a day. We do eat dairy, fish & eggs.

We like our HELPXers to eat the same food at the same time as us.

You can make tea / coffee / juice anytime you want.

We usually have homemade biscuits & cake available for snacks as well as fresh fruit.

We do expect you to help prepare meals, lay the table and clear-up after meals

We hope that you will try to only speak in English whilst around our family / guests, except in an emergency of-course!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use