Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16069
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 16069
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 20, 2017

I live in a conservation area close to the centre of Edinburgh, but with a reasonably green and peaceful outlook with views to Arthur's Seat and near Marchmont. Recently both house and garden maintenance have got somewhat beyond me and I'd really appreciate some help in getting things back on track and also some cheerful company.

It'd be great to have someone to stay who had decent carpentry, plumbing and other home maintenance skills to exchange time working together on tasks for accommodation (but not food). Gardening skills would also be very welcome as there is a lot that needs doing even although the garden is not large. The garden is organic, but currently mostly only yields rosemary, lavender, rocket, mint, gooseberries and chives!

Other random things that I would like to do and someone may have skills to help me with are repair and re-upholstery of old furniture and up-cycling/re-use of old materials and sustainable disposal of the same via channels like gumtree and freecycle...

Any helper would need to be able to prepare their own food, although it would also be good to combine on cooking meals when possible. I'm not vegetarian or vegan and my v. cooking skills are limited although I'm happy to learn. I'm happy to host a vegetarian or vegan so long as they're happy for me not to be so. I am trying to reduce my consumption of animal based produce for health and environment reasons, but it is a work in progress as our culture is quite meat and dairy based...

The flat is a strictly no smoking environment with high standards of cleaning. Staying with me is not going to suit smokers, party/club animals or those who can't clean! It will suit those who enjoy home maintenance, gardening, re-use and re-cycling, cultural activities in Edinburgh and sports like mountain biking, hill-walking and kayaking. Potential helpers should also note that while Edinburgh can be beautifully sunny and warm, it also has a habit of raining too much in the summer and being rather chilly at any random time of year and traditional flats with high ceilings like mine are poorly insulated - so be prepared to cope with damp outdoors and wear warm clothing indoors!

Sorry but homestay is not available during the Edinburgh festival...

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use