Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16130
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Lychen
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1,4
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 16130
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2018

Hi,

This is Henning writing.

Also in this house live Rike and our almost seven year old daughter, Freya.
We have a guest house with a big garden. We also have seven sheep living in our orchard and three chicken. We eat the chickens eggs, apart from that we let
the animals live their lifes, only disturbed when their claws need to be shortened or the wool needs to be cut, speaking about the sheep now :-). We recently got three rabbits, too, they are adorable.
Rike also has her pottery on our property. Did I mention our bouldering room? Rike plays Cello and a bit guitar, I sometimes watch stars and planets from my micro observatory in the garden. Of course, I am more than happy to
show you sky things, if you are interested.

We are around 35 years old and despite good experiences with younger helpers we prefer helpers of our age (24-36).

We started this project in the end of 2011 and there is always a lot to do. Any help is welcome with the garden, fruit trees, further renovate the pottery and workshop, all kinds of jobs around the buildings. Help in house and kitchen will also be welcome.

We live in a quiet and remote area in the North of Germany, between Berlin and the Baltic Sea in beautiful countryside full of hills and lakes.
Languages spoken are English and German. We like to help you learn German, as far as this can be involved into the other activities. And we love to meet new people from all over the world.
You can also learn treeclimbing, go kayaking on one of the endless number of lakes around, do cycling trips or just sit at the firepit in the evenings under a nice starfield far away from any city lights. As we are frequently going to Berlin you dont even need to miss this :).

Rike is a potter and Henning works as a climbing arborist.

We would be happy to hear from you!

UPDATE:

08/2018
-What a hot and dry summer. Some projects came along, but we are often at the lakes, too.

04/2018
-Spring is here, days and nights are much warmer now and sunny. It is time for outside work. We already planted an orphant apple tree, got the hot tub running at the bonfire, so the garden is the living room again.

03/2018
-Last months build of three beautiful firewood sheds boosted our firewood storing capacities and we are very
happy to now have to fill all that space by spending hours in the beautiful local forests chopping logs, bringing them to our place for splitting with our hydraulic wood splitter and stacking them into the sheds for drying.
As always: Everyday life needs a responsible person who takes care for the community apartment, the animals
and so on. We now also have three rabbits.
As for the sky, it`s galaxy season coming, so lets hope for clear skies.

12/2017
-Xmas is at the horizon, as well as the years end.
Some minor inside renovations need to get done, and whoever is interested in my firewood shed concept,
help is apprechiated here. We will build at least three of them in the next two months.
In general, our seven sheep and two chicken (sadly only two right now) need daily attention, the community apartment needs to be fillled with life, warmth and laughter.
We will celebrate new years in a small group of friends, rather calm. So, whoever needs a place away from
the big city rumble, here it is.
Perhaps we will also go to the forests nearby to harvest and process firewood for the coming winters.
09/2017
-Summer slowly comes to an end, we are well prepared for a colourful autumn with sunny days,
but also the first light frosty mornings.
Because we got a micro HOT TUB! Two people, two buckets of wood and two hours at the fire pit provide for a relaxing hot bath, ideally, how can it be otherwise, under the stars.

My tiny garden room has yet to be started, at least the platform is there.
My workshop needs shelfs, which I want to build from wood, so there are, together with renovation tasks, minor projects going on.
Everyday life needs some responsible person who takes care for the community apartment, the animals and so on.

04/2017
-Finally, it is warm again!
Leaves spring out of the plants (a.o. our seven new fruit trees!) and the birds go crazy.
I got a hay trailer and will start building my garden room on it soon. Call it tiny house, if you wish,
but since I will heavily rely on the main houses infrastructure, for me it is more like a single room
with loads of windows in all directions, including up, for stargazing.
Also I managed to kind of complete my backyard observatory, with focus on showing all the interested
people how relaxing and aesthecically fullfilling it can be to watch the stars.
Well, that being said, the kitchen still needs some work to be done, although it also greatly leaped forward in the meantime.
Garden work as well, helping shear the sheep in a few weeks, oh, did I mention our new woodsplitter?

11/2016
-Time to write something.
The calm time of the year has begun, the woodstoves are burning and the winter sky hovers above us.
Vegan cookies are appreciated.
Some carpentry is necessary for the apartments kitchen, as well as gas bottle storage boxes. Holes need to be dug for our new fruit trees, then they (the trees) need to get planted into them (the holes).
Fences need to be built around the trees.
There always is firewood to be split, the pottery waits to get a clay plastering,


02/2016
-Wow, thanks to our last helpers the apartment is going along, but we had to take a break due to letting the oil/wax varnish of the floors harden. We now need help with the electric installations.
-Firewood season! Whoever wants to be in the forest with us and learn how to process firewood from tree to warmth is welcome!
-Winter is almost over (hopefully) and we start preparing the garden.

10/2015:
Things going on at the moment are:
-We need help renovating an apartment of our house, mainly wallpaper removing, painting.
-Building of a climbing wall in the towns former mill, so whoever can climb/use a drill is welcome to help
me set the first climbing routes and install lighting, wall panels, and so on.
-Our bathroom upstairs needs a new floor and we are setting up a rainwater-storage system for the
watering of the garden. We also want to change our fence system for the sheep, because our neighbour
set up a solid fence between his and ours property. Will make our meadow-management much easier.

2/2014: A wolf has killed five sheep in the next village, so being present in the garden is always welcome. Be it for garden work at daytime or at night at the bonfire. Wolves are very shy to humans and won´t show up!

We are setting up a long natural hedge with different sections for different animals and plants. This is gonna be our biggest single ecoproject so far and we need helpers who are interested in learning about that.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use