help exchange   Host 16181
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


near Ross
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 107
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16181
Region: West Coast

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 29, 2020

We are located 40 minutes south of Hokitika and 1.5 hours north of Franz Josef, on a very small dairy farm. There are just under 100 cows. We will have calves shortly.

Katharine would love to design and project manage building another house and once had thoughts of drafting/architecture as a career. Design, ceramics, travel and food are some of my interests. I think I should learn a little Yoga and exercise more.
John, farming, current affairs, poultry, birds We are both like reading. But completely different subjects.
We have an 2 dogs, four cats and lots of poultry.
If you are a potter, there is a small pottery (domestic stoneware ceramics) room and kiln.
Our accommodation is a cosy and private with one double bed and shared facilities.
We are looking for some help in the garden , building, handyman jobs or anything that comes up. Nothing too difficult.
We prefer people over 25 year old , who possibly have some practical skills or are willing to learn. ie:. gardener, landscaper, quad or tractor driving abilities, building, construction, stonemason, arborist. We always have a big variety of jobs.
Mostly outside physical jobs, some need a creative mind. We save the inside jobs for wet days.
People with an independent attitude and a good sense of humour.

We provide all meals & snacks, and plenty of it. With extra fresh eggs and milk. No cooking or dishwashing required. Always fresh biscuits (cookies).
We work rain or shine. A helper would be expected to do 4 - 5 hours average a day although we are flexible, so you can arrange whole days off at the Glaciers, beach etc.
All Gumboots, overalls, gloves, safety gear and rain coats can be provided as required.
Full G4 VoLTE mobile signal, and wifi internet works really well.

We are located in a peaceful valley and live a relaxed happy life. Beach walking and fishing nearby. Creek swimming at the back of the farm or the river in summer.

We are NOT vegetarian but do eat vegetables. Wine or beer is BYO
( bring your own ) please. We usually have a wine or beer ourselves.
Smoking outside please.

It really helps if you say in your profile what work/study you have done before your HelpX time in NZ.
We will reply to all approaches and expect the same.
AND if after saying that you are going to visit and then your plans or situation changes please let us know in plenty of time as other helpers may have had to be turned away.
We do not pay to list on this site and therefore are not listed as premier hosts so if you do pay then you would need to get in touch with us first.

We look forward to meeting you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use