Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16306
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: 1/March to 31/October
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 - 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16306
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 17, 2018

Thank you for reading about us and our place. We moved here in April 2012, swapping hectic lives in the UK for a more natural pace of living, in a beautiful part of the world. contact us and see how you can be part of our amazingly privileged, yet simple, life.

Our main criteria for helpers is enthusiasm and a general willingness to 'muck in', those bringing laughs with them have gifts we will welcome

We are a (mainly) organic small holding attempting to be self sufficient. We are growing our own fruit, veg and animal feed, preserving food by various methods, have lots of fruit trees.

We currently have just poultry and cats Improvements to the animal housing is something we are striving to achieve, before restocking with larger animals

Lomtsi is a beautiful village halfway between Popovo and Razgrad. Most of our neighbours are Bulgarian self sufficient farmers and everyone is really friendly and welcoming. There are beautiful walks all around the village and a couple of bars and shops.

We are ex-helpers ourselves, during which time we learnt a lot and met some great friends. Having experienced the other side of the coin we offer to provide you with good wholesome evening meal (we rarely eat breakfast and lunch, with the emphasis being on the evening meal, lunch is normally leftovers or sandwiches), the opportunity to join us on trips out, the use of our bicycles, internet access and most importantly - an enjoyable experience. We can pick you up from Popovo or Razgrad when you arrive.

We still use a long drop toilet when working outside, but do have a fully functional bathroom (bath, shower, toilet, sink and woodburner for cold nights) We now have a fully functional kitchen/diner and internal staircase

We are both meat eaters, but can cater for vegetarians, although not vegans. Tracey is a very good cook who often invents tasty dishes as she's cooking them. We also smoke (mainly outside)and drink very occasionally

It is really good fun and hopefully you will learn many life skills, mind you hopefully you can teach us a few also. Since moving to Bulgaria we have become gardeners, plumbers, roofers (Paul), plasterers, electricians, animal carers, and have acquired many smaller skill sets. Paul has become a master woodworker, originally with a lathe and now in carpentry.

We are native English speakers but Paul speaks some French and German. We are learning Bulgarian slowly.

Please when contacting us, list what and where you feel you can be of assistance and we will tailor our days to suit your talents and expertise, as well as ensuring we have any necessary materials to hand, when possible....!!!

We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

Paul taking remaining ceiling down in main house;
The vaulted ceiling (not finished yet) in extension;
The house with new roofs, taken from the road;
Tracey weeding the maize field (2012);
The staircase being tried insitu.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use