Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16353
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: mid March - November
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 16353
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 9, 2017

**** We are looking for 2 people that would like to help us with running the Brandy House from now until middle of June and from the end of July until November! There are inside B&B, Glamping and cottage changovers we need help with as well as outside gardening and maintenance jobs. Please do get in touch if you either already have, or would like to develop skills you think could help. Accommodation is in our caravan and a mixture of cooking for yourselves and eating with us***********

This is a beautiful peaceful place and perfect for walking & cycling. We have 2 bridle paths leading out of our holding and up onto 5000 acres of crown estate nature reserve which is just stunning. We are right on the welsh border half way up or down so central if you want to tour Wales and the welsh borders. If you enjoy a rural lifestyle and want to get involved in the running of a small lifestyle business then read on ..

We have lived at the Brandy House for nearly 20 years and run a rural accommodation business with 2 cottages, Farmhouse B&B, Camping PODs and new for 2017 Bell Tent Glamping on a 20 acre small holding. We offer trail riding holidays to guests bringing their own horses and we host a range of Natural Horsemanship clinics from April through to October. We have a herd of 5 horses and keep a few rare breed sheep (Welsh Black Mountain), and have 6 hens. We have a collie; Bonnie, a spaniel Dolly and 2 cats; Marmaduke & Timmy. I also keep bees.

We have two sons (19 - away at university & 16 - still at home!) and we live life to the full. We try to have fun whatever we do and we hope you will too.

We are looking for 2 volunteers to help out both separately and together. We welcome you as part of the team, hours and days off will be variable usually between 5-6 per day with a weekly day off. Help is needed in spells throughout the day not in one go and some days will be easier and shorter and others longer and harder as needs must.

We are looking for help both inside and out to maintain the property, the business, and help with the animals and maintaining the grounds. There are projects on the go all the time to get involved with too ranging from helping with our marketing and social media presence, to building a chicken run. Outside every day jobs range from keeping the yard tidy, watering the plants and poo picking the pony fields, to mowing the lawn. Inside jobs range from washing up and keeping the kitchen tidy, general cleaning duties and supporting our regular help with change overs, to business skills such as keeping our social networks fed with information, and dealing with general administration.

In return for your help you will have a caravan on our small holding which will be your responsibility to maintain in good tidy condition. There are great shower facilities in the main house, which camping guests also use. We will provide you with meals although some of these you may need to cook yourselves. Non smokers please (or ones prepared to smoke outside). We do have wifi but no mobile signal.

We live in a very rural area although we are on the edge of a village with a local pub 5 mins walk away but the nearest town is 9 miles away and public transport very limited although we travel to town most days, but car drivers would be great.

We had some help from HelpX volunteers a couple of years ago and have managed ourselves but missed your contributions. We look forward to welcoming you as helpers to our family and lifestyle. If you are self-motivated, enthusiastic and willing to get 'stuck in' then please do get in touch and let us know how you could help.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use