Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16525
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 3
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 16525
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 12, 2018

Hi Helpxers,

Below is an explanation of what I am looking for:

Help to run a VERY small guest-house: c.3 hours work per day per Helpxer (c.20 hours per week).

The above includes:

Checking guests in and out: Cleaning and preparing bedrooms. Keeping the kitchen, bathrooms and television lounge clean and tidy. Gardening and general maintenance in both the guest-house and at my nearby properties.

I also occasionally need help with weeding/cleaning at my rather derelict properties in north Wales, c.85 miles from Manchester.

At the moment I advertise rooms in Stretford, Manchester, on Airbnb and Sparerooms, and I need some help caring for the house and for my guests.

My home is c.2.5 miles from Manchester City Centre. We are close to 3 Metrolink stations and regular buses run to the city centre: A Day Ticket, offering unlimited travel around Greater Manchester on Stagecoach buses, costs 4.

Please do not send me a Helpx request more than 3 to 4 weeks ahead of the dates you are looking for and please read my advert CAREFULLY before you apply as, unfortunately, two of my previous Helpxers failed to do so and I had to ask them to leave.

I do not want '1-trick ponies', i.e. Helpxers who think that their job is just cleaning or just gardening. Helpxers need to be interested in the running of the guest-house and willing to help wherever the work is.

The Helpxer accommodation will be in my home, a period Victorian house overlooking lovely Longford Park: Parkside Guest House is based in Stretford, M32 8QJ.

I provide comfortable self-catering accommodation in a small but friendly home-hostel/guest house which accommodates just 5 or 6 guests. My guests include overnight stays and people moving to Manchester who stay for 1 to 6 weeks until they find their long-term accommodation.

You will need to be self-motivated, able to work alone (I will not always be around), outgoing and interested in the guest-house and its guests. I expect my Helpxers to be available for work at the latest by 9 a.m. If you want to stay in bed late in the morning please do not apply!

The position of Helpxer would suit individuals or pair/triple.

I have just 3 double/twin rooms for guests and 1 shared dormitory room for helpxers: this bedroom has 1 double and 1 single bed. Helpxers also share the television lounge and kitchen with guests.

We are self-catering only: guests and Helpxers. I do NOT provide food, you will have to meet that cost yourself.

Occasionally Helpxers may need to change rooms in order to allow me to accept a reservation. Plus, if guests want to extend and I do not have availability for a day or two, you may be asked to sleep on a comfortable mattress in my lounge. However, that is very rare and I will only ask you to do so in an emergency.

Limited Wifi access available: emails, browsing, etc. - no major downloading.

Most of the Helpxer requests I receive tell me that they can clean and garden but, although there is some cleaning and gardening to do it does not take a great deal of time, the main help I need is building work, labouring, painting/decorating and the internet (website needed).

I also need longer-term building and labouring help in order to bring the former Manchester BackPackers Hostel back into use.

Close to Manchester city centre, the Trafford Centre, Salford Quays Media Centre, Lowry Theatre and Gallery, Imperial War Museum, Manchester United Football ground, Lancashire County Cricket ground, Stretford Leisure Centre/swimming pool and the centre of Chorlton-cum-Hardy.

c.10 minute walk to Stretford Metrotram stop (Manchester city centre-Altrincham), c.12 minute walk to Firswood Metrotram stop Manchester city centre-Airport/East Didsbury), c.20 minute walk to Chorlton Metrotram station (Manchester city centre-Airport/East Didsbury).

5 minute walk to buses to city centre (no. 15), Trafford Centre-Stockport (nos. 22, 23 and 23A).

Close to shopping centres, local colleges (offering English language courses), Mersey Valley Nature Reserve, Sale waterpark, and Chorlton-cum-Hardy's vibrant social scene (Chorlton Green c.15 mins walk).

I am offering accommodation ONLY in return for approximately 3 hrs work per person per day (c.20 hrs per week). Days/hours by arrangement so Helpxers would also have enough free time to find some paid work.

Providing a room for Helpxers potentially costs me c.19-57 lost income per night. That's a minimum of 19 for each night that an individual Helpxer stays with me and that includes the day a Helpxer arrives as well as his/her last night so please do not arrange to Helpx with me if you think you are likely to cancel at the last minute.

Helpxers who find a full-time job and no longer wish to Helpx may purchase their accommodation: weekly rate for a bed in a shared room is 133.

Late cancellations by Helpxers cost me income as, in order to free up the room for Helpxers, I may have refused paid bookings.

A number of Helpxers have failed to complete their work commitment so please re-read what I have just written as I want everything to be fair and equitable, and I want to share my home with happy Helpxers!

Please also note that Helpxers will not be able to claim 'Housing Benefit': 'Helpxing' does not mean that you will have a tenancy agreement.

I have 3 letting rooms and Helpxers are expected to clean rooms and stairways to a good standard: skirting-boards, mirrors, windows, vacuuming under and behind beds and cleaning the pipework behind toilets, without having to be instructed and in a reasonable amount of time. This sounds a lot of cleaning but it's not, just a few minutes a day, apart from when rooms need preparing for new guests. If you are not willing to clean a toilet please do not apply.

I'm pretty easy-going but I get irritated if I still have to clean a room after it has been 'cleaned' by a Helpxer. I need to be able to rely on Helpxers cleaning to a reasonable standard, otherwise they cost me time instead of saving it and, should my guesthouse get a poor review for cleanliness, they can also cost me business!

Helpxers must be computer literate and have a good standard of English.

Enthusiastic and energetic non-smokers required.

Initially, after 1 day settling-in, I may require you to work 2 full days (6 hours per day) at the beginning of your 1st week: to cover your first and final nights accommodation and about the same again in order to get ahead of your work commitment.

After that your working hours will be flexible, by arrangement, and suitable to us both.

You will need to be self-motivated, happy to work on your own and, usually, an early-riser as I will not always be around to show you what to do.

I am setting-up a charity/social enterprise and workers co-operative and I need help with my business plan and applying for funding.

If you have building experience and would like to help a social enterprise please contact me.

Help needed obtaining quotes for environmentally sustainable refurbishment work so that I can apply for grants/loans.

I am beginning to renovate 3 houses in Manchester which I hope to use as co-operative housing/a workers co-operative. Plus a cottage, a house and a derelict stable block in the centre of Llanfairfechan, Conwy, North Wales (LL33).

Once funding is in place I will need lots of DIY/carpentry/builders help in both Manchester and North Wales; between the North Wales coast and the Snowdonia National Park.

My home in Manchester has just four double/twin bedrooms available for paying guests, one of these rooms has now been set aside to accommodate helpXers who will need to clear up after themselves, just as they would in any hostel. Sorry I can offer only limited laundry facilities, laundry nearby.

Plumbing/Electric/'DIY' and decorating skills much needed.

I'm searching the internet to find grants/funding so if you are internet savvy with good English and looking for an internship this would probably suit you. More details on facebook via link above.

You will need reasonably good English skills and preferably you can commit to a minimum of 4 weeks but, just occasionally, I also welcome shorter stay helpxers.

Just sending me an email or text telling me you would like to be my 'helpxer' will not help me to decide whether what you want and what I am looking for is compatible, so please tell me about yourself.

I am TEFL (Teacher of English as a Foreign Language) trained but this offer does not include language lessons. If your knowledge of English is very limited this offer will not be suitable for you.

I am also a qualified holistic/complementary medicine therapist and a professional Tour Guide.

Margaret's 'review' in the summer of 2013 made me unsure whether to carry on participating in helpx but I'm still here and, happily, apart from the occasional short-fall in the hours worked, I've been happy with my helpxers and they with me.

During the time that Margaret stayed with me she never came out of her bedroom until the middle of the afternoon and her next host asked her to leave after just 2 days, resulting in another of Margaret's vitriolic reviews! That host closed her helpx account as she was concerned about her reputation and the ease with which somebody like Margaret could vilify her on line.

Kader contacted me in late 2015 and, in retaliation for the comment that I made about him failing to arrive as arranged, attempted to blackmail me into removing my comment by threatening me with a negative review and describing me as a liar.

Having been subjected to Kader and Julian's invective I am extremely pleased that neither of them are my Helpxers.

This advert is extremely lengthy because I do not wish there to be any misunderstandings between me and any future Helpxers.

I look forward to hearing from you and to an enjoyable helpxing experience for us both.

Best Regards from Maggie.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use