help exchange   Host 16561
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


RONKS
All Year: yes
Area (ha): .75
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16561
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 4, 2019

We are a people-loving family of 6 living in a old house that has been in the family/business for over 100 years. The house is in the middle of a Fruit Farm, a large orchard managed by Clair. We have a small farm with chickens and pigs and cats and one dog.

Anna cares for and teaches our four children (5,7,11, and 14) She enjoys providing the children with meaningful and stimulating learning experiences, always stopping her work to read them one more book. She has also taken our family on a real-food, slow-food journey -- making nearly all of our meals from "scratch" from mostly locally sourced ingredients. Along the way, she has learned how to make kombucha, kefir, sourdough bread, lacto-fermented veggies, homemade medicines, and a variety of homemade and/or traditional foods. She thrives on neighborhood interactions and getting to know people of all kinds.

When Clair is not working at the fruit farm, he spends his spare time creating things, homesteading, gardening, and caring for the pigs, chickens, rabbits, duck, cats, and dog. He also enjoys permaculture, composting, foraging for wild foods, and most of all being a father and husband. You can see more of our homestead activity via our facebook link above.

For our helper we like to find out what it is that you enjoy doing. Maybe there are classes you want to teach our kids. There is always lots of cleaning needed in this big farm house. Maybe you would enjoy cooking for us. At times we do home canning and need help with that. We mostly enjoy short stays. Even one day is fine! 1-10 days is perfect. Most times we say no to longer stays.

We eat mostly gluten free, sugar free, and stay away from preservatives, msg, and processed foods. So we eat meats, fish/seafood, fresh fruits, fresh vegetables, eggs, nuts, seeds, rice, beans, potatoes, squash, legumes, healthy oils, herbs and spices. We love food from other cultures and our children are very adventurous eaters.

As a helper, we ask that you work 4 hours a day in return for a place to stay and eating 3 daily meals with us. The rest of the time you are free to explore and tour the local culture. We are unable to go with you and show you the attractions, but can loan you our bike to explore.

We have a washer, wash-line, and dryer for your laundering needs. We also have wifi available for your mobile devices. You can use our bedding and towels.

We enjoy learning about other cultures. Anna knows how to speak Pennsylvania Dutch, the German dialect of the Amish people. Anna spent several years teaching in a one-room Amish school.

Lancaster County is a favorite destination for many in the Mid-Atlantic region and beyond. There are numerous wonderful attractions, and we can help you find the best ones, depending on your interests. We live in the heart of Amish country.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use