Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16578
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 16578
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 23, 2018

Helping to make the world a better place on our animal/ horsefarm in southern germany

our beautiful farm "Weidenhof" is located close to Baden Baden/ Freiburg/ Karlsruhe. On 5 ha we have 4 horses, cats, sheep and goats. We're looking for a cheerful person with skilled hands. A long stay is possible.

Uwe is competent craftsman and has a lot of experiences with ecological building projects. He worked several years as a construction manager. He is aswell a yoga and dragon dreaming trainer and we both are very interested in a healthy life style and sustainible living.
I (Frauke) am a social worker, psychotherapist (Gestalttherapie) and working in the field of animal assisted therapy.
We both love to work with children and teens.

We work aswell with traumatised people. Be aware when visiting us that we work therapeutically and have therefore a special way of non-violent communication and behaviour. We have been creating on our farm a "safe space" where we maintain an atmosphere of mutual respect and partnership - both with our clients and our animals.
This includes a few rules at the farm which we take very seriously (for example not to feed the animals out of your hand, going very aware to an animal with noticing in advance if the animal really wants you close and to be touched). In the beginning they may appear a bit strict to you. We view them more as an opportunity for you to experience a new way of being and living together- both with humans and with animals.

Construction and building projects (green classroom for children, jurt, insulating, claybuilding), animal care, gardening, cooking,... we are active in animal assisted therapy. When you are interested you could learn something about the regardful contact with animals/ horses (no riding). We are in the midsts of rebuilding activities.
We would love to install permaculture projects on the farm so we are more than happy if you want to share your knowledge in that topic with us.

We like to have contact to different cultures, nationalities and mentalities through helpxers. You will be treated as part of the family, so helping in the house with meals, cooking, washing up etc. is part of being with us.

Our helpxer should have skilled hands and of course we would be happy with a talented craftsman/ architect or ingenieur! And you should like animals ;)
Duration of stay: at least 2 weeks, when it fits for both sides, you're invited to stay longer
Our helpers join the work 6 hours per day/ 5 days a week.
You need an international health insurance.

You will sleep in a trailer (perhaps to be shared with another helper), sleeping in the hay or in a tent. Just ask us whats available during your stay. You will have a small bathroom and a kitchen for cooking aswell.

Our farm is located in the very beautiful "Murgtal"-area ( You can for example bike, walk and swim. Beside friendly hospitality you will be supplied with food and accomodation.

We speak german and english fluently and would like our guest to speak one of those languages.

Smoking is allowed only outside.
No drugs, only moderate drinking habits are tolerated, no alcohol consumption in common rooms.
We are vegetarian.

- Solid shoes (while working with machines)
- Because of the ticks long pans
- Sleeping bag
- Rainclothes and some for hot temperatures
- Swim suit
- Some warm clothes
- International driving license if available

We have only at a few spots on the farm (outside) were you might have an internet connection with your mobile. For a break from the digital world no laptop use in common rooms.
We also have a cafe with W-Lan in town (2 km).

closest trainstation "Gernsbach-Bahnhof" or "Baden-Baden" and from ther per bus (30 minutes).
by plane "Baden-Baden Airpark" (we can pick you up there)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use