help exchange   Host 16652
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Totara North, Kaeo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2 hectares (.5 acres)
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 16652
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 6, 2015

We overlook the beautiful Whangaroa Harbour which is a great place to kayak, fish and explore. There are walking tracks in the area and a DOC hut on the harbour at the end of one.

We are about 2 1/2 hours from Cape Reinga by car or tour bus.

An intercity bus goes through Kaeo. To get off near us ask to get off at the Totara North bridge about 15 minutes further on from Kaeo. We are about 10 minutes off Highway 10.

We have general garden work - lots of hard weeding, a bit of digging, putting bark mulch on to the weeded gardens;and earth to be shifted from an old garden in to a new raised vegeatable garden. Shifting heavy items around outside and maybe a bit of gardening with Raewyn-Andrea at the local college. If it is wet there is some spring cleaning and housework. A small garden pool needs to be completed. Any agreed mix of the above tasks would be great.

We have 2 goats, 1 cat, 1 toy poodle, 2 poochons (toy poodle and bichon freis X)and 2 hens on .2 of a hectare.

A sunny bedroom with a queen size bed, with electric blanket, is available in a non-smoking household. You can access our wireless network with your own device as long as data usage is reasonable.

We are on tank water for the house and also solar water heating- so this is not the place to come for long hot showers. If the sun doesn't shine the showers can be rather cool - or you can heat the water with the chippy wetback fire. Being careful of water usage is also important.

If we are going out for a couple of hours on our 8 metre bilge keeler we usually fish inside or outside the harbour - weather dependent. You are welcome to come if you wish.

There is a road bicycle and helmet if you want to use that to explore.

Short stays of 2 to 3 days will be considered - as well as a week for initial arrangements. Around 4 to 5 hours work per day for food and accommodation.

If you want to add 2 days work together so you can spend a whole day out that is ok by arrangement.

We are rural - the nearest large town is Kerikeri about 25 minutes drive away.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use