Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16661
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Blajeni - Cris Hunedoara
All Year: not winter
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1-4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16661
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 20, 2018

We need help this year for the following activities
-electrician (change the wires in the kitchen)
-designed, decorated house walls (paintings of mountains, flowers, butterflies, etc.)
-Mechanical for the car
- we want to build a garage in the valley
-to bring wood from the forest for the winter
-You can make campfire but you can go out to bring branches from the forest (200-300m), you can make a barbecue if you bring meat (we are vegetarians)
- if we do not respond in less than 3 days, we do not have any available places for the period you are requesting.

We are a young Romanian couple. We have bought a beautiful house in a very beautiful region in the Apuseni mountains. We are surrounded by mountains and forests so there are lots of nice walks. The house is situated on a large hill (600 m high) and the view is gorgeous.
You need to walk from the village about 45 min on a foot path.

Our house is open for helpers that look for experiences in wild Eastern European countryside and enjoy simple living and vegetarian dishes.
The closest market is 30 km away,if you want to eat meat or special needs have to buy in advance.
We recycle what we can by separating our trash and finding a second use for items,composting our organic waist we do not use chemicals in our gardens.
Our house is under restoration, we can host 1-4 person,depending on the number of people in the house .Please be aware that this is an old mountain house, so do not expect a city comfort - we still work to improve some parts of the house, at the moment Acomdation is in your own room (suitable for a couple or single person) in the house It is possible to accomodate up to 4 people (i.e. 2 couples) as there is an adjacent room due to be refurbished. It is a refurbished old wooden house. Walks in surrounding area are possible and welcomed.
We can discuss how you want to work. Normally we work 6 hours per day with 3 hours morning and 3 hous in the evening. The rest is your free time with 2 days off per week to explore the landscape.
The typical tasks we need help with depending on the weather and other conditions are:
Throughout the seasons there is always work on
Here is the schedule for
-clean garden from dead leaves and branches
-plant the seeds for the vegetable and herbs gardens

For summer

-pick up wild mushroom, summer apple and fruits
-finish refurbishing our building new costruction
-take care of vegetable garden and plant flowers
-make syrups, jams etc for winter.

For autumn:
- gardening
- small renovation work
- picking fruit: apples, pears, plums, blackberries, walnuts.
- cleaning around the house.
it's always something to do,we believe the majority of work is light, but occasionally it could be possible to have a working harder

As I said this is an old wooden house that needs a lot of work. Expect very simple accomodation
Also we dont have much furniture.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Please check out our photos! - follow the link at the top of the page

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use