Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16727
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Malaga
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: Up to 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16727
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 15, 2018

**Si no hablas inglés, y te gusta la pinta del proyecto, ponte en contacto conmigo y te lo puedo explicar un poco...

**I am looking for help this summer with some construction work, firewood preparation among other things. Experience not necessary, just curiosity/willingness/desire to get involved ...

We are in the Genal Valley in Malaga province, Andalucia, next to the most southern part of Spain and mainland Europe in a rural area that is mountainous and forested. We live in an old millhouse dating back to Moorish times and although it was done up about 20 years ago, the house and surrounding land need a lot of attention. The conditions I offer vary from each according to their needs to each according to their ability.
We have water from the mountain and use firewood to heat in the winter months. I have also recently installed more electricity with solar panels and can run a washing machine.

I am also involved in an up and running organic community vegetable garden which is a 5 minute walk from here and there are always bits ands pieces to be done there too. What I offer and ask for changes from month to month depending on what I have got on.

There are 3 of us permemantly living here, (although there are often more here with friends and family visiting etc) myself and my 2 fast growing home educated children, who are 11 and 13 - they could do with help in either French or German. They are also becoming competent musicians on the the violin/clarinet and the cello/trumpet, so any musicians or people who just enjoy being around music would be great. I speak English and good Spanish. My daughters are bilingual and switch between languages. We can help with learning either language. I like to play/mess around with music and sound, playing several instruments.

We like parties/gatherings/celebrations

Helpx/woofing experience is a great way of finding out about new people and points of view. Apart from the help that is offered, it is a great way of broadening our horizons in what is a very rural and traditional area.

We are next to the Genal river and a 10 minute drive or a 45 minute walk from the villages of Benarraba and Genalguacil. By car we are 25 minutes from Gaucin, 1 hour from Ronda, 2 hours from Malaga city, 2 hours from Seville (Sevilla) and 2.5 hours from Cadiz. 1.5 hours from Algeciras and Tarifa. There are good transport links to the ports that serve Africa (Morocco).

Some ideas of tasks are: stone walling/terracing, fencing, maintaining the vegetable garden, helping out domestically or maybe helping with my kids so I can get on with the physical stuff and loads other stuff... Basically there is quite a variety depending on the person and what he/she is good at. I got a building licence last summer (2017) to completely overhaul the roof in the mill. The msinwork is all done and at the moment, I am doing a lot of finishing work (there seems to be more of that than I thought!)
There are a lot of alternative, organic type people in the local area. There's lots of opportunities to meet people into yoga, art, music, eco-building, yurt dwelling, world changing etc etc. There’s also the ppportunity to meet traditional mountain folk with flat caps and mules.
I came to the area myself as a wwoofer when I was 27, some years ago now (time flieees!) so there is a fairly good network around of people of all ages. There are also other volunteering possibilities in the area and often helpers come and go between my place and others to keep it varied.
Thanks for reading this and good luck with your plans,
Seán

-In the photo below, you can see starting from right to left:
me, my daughter Candela, my brother Andrew, Heidi (a fantastic helpxer), my other daughter Caoimhe, Heidi's friend Ainie.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use