Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16913
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Swifts Creek
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Regular suburban house
Persons: 2/4 depending onbeds
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 16913
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 6, 2018

I live in beautiful, East Gippsland, Victoria, in the small town of Swifts Creek, up in the Victorian Alps, kind of halfway between Melbourne, Sydney and Canberra.
(Melbourne is 4 to 5 hours away by car, longer by bus. Canberra likewise. Sydney is about 8 by car, longer by bus.)
Swifts Creek is perched high in the Alps, and we get snow occasionally.... Winter is lovely here. I have lots of warm bedding etc. I love driving up to the alpine resorts and seeing the snow.
Swifts Creek is close to the mountains, national parks, walking and bike tracks, and caves. It truly is a glorious little place. We are driving distance to some other beautiful areas.
I can drive us to visit places, and there are some buses.
I moved here in early 2016, as local minister/priest/trained social worker/community development worker, but a large part of my work is as a comunity development worker in some remote mountainous villages ... Again, in beautiful country.
I appreciate travel companions. I frequently travel amongst part of the lovely Snowy Mountains, and many of my Helpx workers have had the chance to see some amazing places- often in parts of the world few usual tourists would go, especially in the regional national parks.
My garden used to be a showplace, and is only now getting back to a decent state. It has potential. I envision that part of it could become an open garden, a place of peace and reflection for my community. My house and garden back onto the church grounds, so there is potential for what I have here to be a part of the bigger whole.
My house is comfortable, with several bedrooms, with double and queen beds. One bathroom shared by all. Household help is MUCH appreciated.
Swifts Creek is accessible by public transport. There is none in town though, so we walk, or I drive us. Still we are talking small town here, so distance is not great.
Life gets hectic here at times, but there are always interesting things to do and see, and people to meet... Even in my own job sphere you will meet fun and quirky people.
Maybe you enjoy creating gardens and lovely places, or would just like to explore rural Australia, and help out for a little while in a remote but happy house? Maybe you could help in the garden? Or in the house? I am thinking perhaps part of the day, say 4 hours, and then you can just chill out?
Come visit, and find out for yourself.


You should ensure that you have your own travel insurance cover as you stay here at your own risk. I cannot accept responsibility for any loss, injury or damage.

The city of Melbourne, or indeed Sydney or Canberra, is too far to go there and back in one day. Eg. You can`t pop down to Melbourne to shop and be back here in time for dinner.

My hosting will not suit 2nd year visas... Law has changed. Volunteer work is no longer acceptable. You will need proof of paid work to apply for the visa now. This would include formal payslips. Volunteer hosts can`t pay you, and so you can`t have proof of paid work

I am sorry but I do not provide Melbourne /Avalon airport pick-ups or drop-offs. It is too far from my home. I can provide some travel advice to you.

Some things to note:
Meals provided.
If you have diet requirements, please advise in your enquiry contact.
Smoking not accepted inside.
Small shops in town.
No night clubs or cinema.
Daytime buses to bigger towns and shops.
Wifi available

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use