Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16965
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 64
Persons: 1 - 2 for the winter
Category: Other
Host ID: 16965
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 10, 2015

We are a Dutch Family living in France!
We live on a milk farm of 65 ha., so there's a lot of space :-) We have cows, ponies (the kids can ride on them with a little help), a donkey, 4 dogs and a cat. Our farm is just 500 mts away from the rn 141. On this road you drive 6 km left or right to a small town. Bigger cities are St. Junien (~20 mins), Limoges (~45 mins), Angoulème (~30 mins), Bordeaux (2.5 hours~) and Paris (~4 hours)

(Estimated timings by car)

We have 3 kids: Périne from 9, Isabella from 6 and Marc is 4
The kids speak fluent French and Dutch; they are learning/picking up English from others (English-speaking friends of the family). I (mama) speak fluent French, English, German and Dutch. My husband speaks French, Dutch and English fluently.

Dear volunteers,

As our farm and our children are very laborious, we are almost always looking for extra hands!
Of these extra hands we hope that they are able to work independently, own make decisions,without side lining others. Generally we are early work starters - we start with breakfast between 7.00-8.00am,(in the weekend/holidays one our lather!) subsequently taking a short rest in the afternoon.We ask 4-5 flexible hours a day, rest is volunteer.

I have 2 places in the house and by nice weather we still use the caravan which has 2 places as well!(in summer als an extra bungalow tent with 2-4places)

Around the farm we could use help with the milking and feeding the cows, feeding the flock, mucking out the stables, spraying the milking area, places and repairing the fence, renovation of the stables, grass mowing around the farm, cleaning up around the yard, weeding in the vegetable garden, harvesting and processing of vegetables and chopping wood for the fireplace

In and around the house we can use help with the children (especially during the holidays), cooking, baking, cleaning and tidying the house, painting and decorating in the house, renovate and create space, weeding in the garden, general renovations to the house on the cheapest but a good way

What we offer our extra hands is the following:
a busy, chaotic, crazy but warm,open temporary family
spacious room in a the house with a double bed or our Caravan + tent in the garden if this is your wish is during autumn / winter.
3x a day meals with the family (at least one meal is hot!)
plenty of coffee and t-breaks
occasional delicious home made cakes
the opportunity to learn about and around the farm
Getting knowledge a unique part France
no minimum to maximum stay period
help own thoughts / work things out
broad shoulders to cry on if necessary

So if you like what I wrote there and you want to know more about us, let us know asap!


01-20 febr 2015 room:no place available (1ado+2kids UK) caravan: no place available
20-28 febr 2015room: no place available (1 ado+2kids UK)
01-15 mrt 2015room :No place available (3xaustralia) caravan:no place
15-30 mrt 2015 room : 1-2 places available caravan:no place
01-15 apr 2015 room : 1-2 places available caravan:no place
16-30 apr 2015 room : 1-2 places available caravan:1-2 places available
01-15 mai 2015 room :1-2 places available caravan:1-2 places available

16-31 mai 2015 room : 2 places open caravan:1-2 places open Tent:1-3 places open 01- 5 juin 2015 no place open (3x fin)
06 -30 juin 2015 room: 1-2places open caravan:1-2 places open Tent: 1-3 places open 01-15 july 2015 room:1- 2 places open caravan:1-2 place open Tent:1-3 places open
16-31 july 2015 room: 1-2 places open, caravan:1-2 place open Tent:1-3 places open
01-08 aug 2015 room: 1-2 places open, caravan:1-2 places open Tent:1-3 places open
09-31 aug 2015 room: 1-2 places open caravan:1-2 places open Tent:1-3 places open

Hope to see you soon!

NB: If you say to come but we don't have any travel information from you 14 days before you come, there is a big risk that your place is taken! I'm sorry but the list from yes we/ I come and then we hear nothing any-more is long for 2013! And we have really planned
to finish several projects this year!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use